The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Pitcher's arm back limit ?? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/8874-pitchers-arm-back-limit.html)

bobbrix Wed Jun 04, 2003 11:58am

(not sure if this has come up before)

for a pitcher who brings her arm back behind her and then forward for the “one revolution”, is there a rule for how far back her arm can go ??

seen one last week who was bringing her arm back to shoulder height as part of her delivery

so it looks odd and she ends up with at least one and a quarter revolutions (or one and a third)

the ump was questioned about it and said it was ok

don't have my rules with me here, but i believe the rule states 'not more than one revolution' and at the same time says the pitcher can 'drop her arm to the side or back' as part of the delivery

if her arm goes back, that's automatically more than one revolution ... isn't it ... ???







Dakota Wed Jun 04, 2003 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bobbrix
don't have my rules with me here, but i believe the rule states 'not more than one revolution' and at the same time says the pitcher can 'drop her arm to the side or back' as part of the delivery

if her arm goes back, that's automatically more than one revolution ... isn't it ... ???

Speaking ASA, the rule (6-3D) says the pitcher must not make 2 full revolutions. Therefore, the backswing can go as far back as she wishes, so long as once the forward delivery starts, she does not make 2 complete revolutions. I've seen a pitcher who's backswing was almost vertical.

CecilOne Wed Jun 04, 2003 12:47pm

one being less than two
 
The rule (must not make two revolutions) is interpreted as one being less than two, so 1 1/2 or 1 3/4 or 1.999999999 are ok. If the start is behind and almost shoulder height, the arm can come forward, then up around to the original height and the forward again to release, as long as the release point is still below the hip.

DownTownTonyBrown Wed Jun 04, 2003 01:42pm

The above members have given you the correct answer. She can swing it back as far as she wants. FED rules make this

NOTE: One revolution is interpreted as "not two revolutions," provided the pitching arm is dropped to the side and to the rear before starting the windmill motion.

I assume there is similar direction in the ASA rulebook.

bobbrix Wed Jun 04, 2003 02:23pm

Ran out to my car and grabbed my book (Softball Canada):

6-4: The pitcher may use any windup desired providing:

d) He does not make more than one revolution of the arm in the windmill pitch. A pitcher may drop his arm to the side and to the rear before starting the windmill motion.

Literally, I read this as contradictory if the pitcher drops his arm to the rear.


I'll go with Cecil and Downtown from now on, interpreting one revolution as "not two revolutions". (I look forward to the strange looks when I use that one.)

Sure would be easier if the rule said 'less than two revolutions ' per Dakota.


Thanks as always ... you folks are making my first year a whole lot easier.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1