The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 03, 2003, 12:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Re: Dakota

Quote:
Originally posted by WestMichBlue
OK - now explain POE 32 A.3.b "It is interference if the batted ball ricochets off one diffensive (sic) player and any player has the opportunity to make an out." Doesn't say "intentional."
POE 32 A-3 starts out with "Intentionally interfering ... (although, to be sure, ASA seems to have mixed the context here between batted and thrown balls, so it is not entirely clear that a) thru e) are really subparagraphs of 3.) Even so, POE's will provide further clarification to a rule, they do not contradict the rule, and the rule 8-7J.5 says "Intentionally ... "

Now, in this kind of situation, the way I interpret the rule is with a somewhat broad definition of "intentional." If the deflected ball and/or the fielder chasing it give the runner little or no chance to avoid mucking up the play (by contact or not), then the runner would have to do something obvious, such as slap at the ball or something. OTOH, if the delfection happened 30 feet in front of the runner, and yet she continued to plow into the middle of the attempt to field the ball, then I would consider that "intentional."

Quote:
In my game I did not believe F6 could get that runner at first on the deflected ball, so no interference. But you are saying "forget that judgement, no interference because interference was not deliberate."
Well, I didn't exactly say that, it is just that, the way I read the rule, intent had to be there and the opportunity for an out has to be there - both.

Quote:
Lets change the play. Batted ball ricochets off the pitcher in the air towards F4. As she reached out to catch the ball (which would be a legal out) her hand is hit by the runner from 1B. Not intentional. What was an easy out is now a missed ball and both runners are safe. Is that what the rules makers want?WMB
Depends (IMO) on whether the runner had time to stay out of the way, but continued on anyway, or whether the whole thing happend right on top of the runner, giving her no chance (or in between).
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1