The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 30, 2003, 01:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
The ASA rule says the batter shall not "Interfere with a play at home plate." It does not say the batter is required to vacate the batter's box during a play or pending play at the plate. POE 32 adds that the batter's box is not a sanctuary, but, still, does not require the batter to vacate the box; it only requires the batter to not interfere.

A key comment in your situation was
Quote:
receives throw from catcher, but it is not in time
This doesn't sound to me like the batter interfered with a play.

No play, no interference.

To your larger point, though, early in the season, I teach players and coaches at this age. Later in the season and/or in tournaments, I call it if, in fact, it is interference.

[Edited by Dakota on May 30th, 2003 at 01:57 PM]
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1