The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Advancing toward 2nd (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/8805-advancing-toward-2nd.html)

tetris Thu May 29, 2003 11:47am

My girl (batter runner) started for 2nd base after an overthrow was made on her @ 1st. After 3 steps she returned to the base when she realized she could not make it. Opposing coach called to her player to tag her...which she did but she was already back on 1st. Umpire called her out because he said she intended to go toward 2nd. Is this a good call. This happened this weekend in Cheshire Ct 14U pony tournament

IRISHMAFIA Thu May 29, 2003 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tetris
My girl (batter runner) started for 2nd base after an overthrow was made on her @ 1st. After 3 steps she returned to the base when she realized she could not make it. Opposing coach called to her player to tag her...which she did but she was already back on 1st. Umpire called her out because he said she intended to go toward 2nd. Is this a good call. This happened this weekend in Cheshire Ct 14U pony tournament
Cannot speak for Pony, but she's safe in an ASA game if the umpire knows the rules.


greymule Thu May 29, 2003 12:53pm

I don't know Pony either, but the umpire was wrong. He obviously confused the look-back rule with whatever else was bouncing around his noggin.

By that umpire's logic, a player who rounds 1B after a base hit is obliged to continue on to 2B. Nobody's code could possibly stipulate such nonsense.

Del-Blue Thu May 29, 2003 08:22pm

Where do thesr umpires com up with some of these rules?????


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1