The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2000, 07:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 1
Question

I have called batter/runners out in the following situation in the past as
has many of my colleagues. But in a past news letter I received from the
Little League Umpire Registry this situation came up and the batter/runner
was not called out. Now I am confused and looking for some clarification.
Little League, Fast pitch softball, 0 or 1 outs. Batter takes ball 4 and
is awarded 1st base. As the batter trots to first the catch returns the
ball to the pitcher in the 8 ft circle. As the batter/runner gets to 1st
she turns toward 2nd base and takes 1 step off the bag and looks back to
see where the ball and pitcher are, or where a play may be taking place at
that time.
At this point I have called that runner out if she returns to 1st base,
thinking that by taking that 1 step she has made a move or committed to 2nd
base. But now I am thinking she still has an option to go to 2nd or return
to 1st providing it is done immediately. Anybody have a clear call on this?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1