The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Dead Ball Territory - ASA (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/86521-dead-ball-territory-asa.html)

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:36pm

Dead Ball Territory - ASA
 
1-1 Count, B1 hits a high fly ball heading toward DBT. F9 sets up for the ball straddling the dead ball line facing the plate area. As the ball approaches, F9 lifts her left foot just prior to catching the ball.

Correct ruling is:

Not a legal catch, foul ball

Legal catch, B1 is out

RKBUmp Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:47pm

Legal catch.

BretMan Tue Jan 24, 2012 01:35am

Hmmm...wouldn't "catch/no catch" depend on where her foot lands after it was lifted in the air?

The definition says that after establishing a position of "out of play" (which this fielder did), a catch can be made with one foot in a live-ball area and the other in the air if the fielder is returning to the live-ball area.

To me, "returning" means that the foot in the air needs to next touch down in live-ball area. If it does, a legal catch can be made. If it doesn't, then it can't be.

Same concept as the old "making a catch while jumping over the outfield fence play", only in reverse.

Crabby_Bob Tue Jan 31, 2012 02:15pm

RS/27 supports the view that this is a legal catch. That is, lifting the out-of-bounds foot before the catch is good enough. Putting it down again in DBT would be a catch-and-carry.

EsqUmp Tue Jan 31, 2012 07:14pm

Rule 1: Catch / No Catch

"The fielder's feet must be within the field of play, touching the 'out of play' line or in the air after leaving live ball territory in order to have a valid catch. A player who is 'out of play' and returns must have both feet touching live ball territory or one foot touching and the other in the air for the catch to be legal."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1