The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA Mens SP Rentry (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/8634-asa-mens-sp-rentry.html)

Larks Thu May 15, 2003 10:39am

Sorry If I am posting this again. Thought I did yesterday.

I'm from the basketball side but I do play softball.

Looking for confirmation on the rule for re-entry.

As I understand it...please tell me if I am wrong.

A1 is in the game
A2 can substitute for A1
A1 can re-enter but A2 is now pinned to A1.
A2 can sub again for A1

at this point, A1 is done.

Is this correct?

Thanks



CecilOne Thu May 15, 2003 11:14am

Just about and it's all ASA. not just men's SP. A2 is pinned to A1's spot in the batting order, not to A1 him/herself. That is, if A12 later replaces A1, A2 can replace A12 as long as all three of them use only the batting order spot started by A1.

"at this point, A1 is done" seems to be the point most often misunderstood by players and coaches, who sometimes think that because A1 can be replaced twice, A1 could re-enter twice. Each player can re-enter only once.

Larks Thu May 15, 2003 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by CecilOne
Just about and it's all ASA. not just men's SP. A2 is pinned to A1's spot in the batting order, not to A1 him/herself. That is, if A12 later replaces A1, A2 can replace A12 as long as all three of them use only the batting order spot started by A1.

"at this point, A1 is done" seems to be the point most often misunderstood by players and coaches, who sometimes think that because A1 can be replaced twice, A1 could re-enter twice. Each player can re-enter only once.


Thank you C-One

greymule Thu May 15, 2003 02:28pm

I remember it by "You're not out of the game until you have been removed a second time."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1