The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Is this a contradiction? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/85771-contradiction.html)

HugoTafurst Fri Jan 13, 2012 10:31pm

Is this a contradiction?
 
NFHS
Is this a contradiction?
R1 on third...
Batter pops up to F6...
3B Coach interferes with F6 (similar to play in NFHS Softball Preseason Guide 2012 page 13)

I find it hard to believe that we give the defense 2 outs (7-4-12 AND 8-6-16) for one offense (that was not intended to prevent a double play...

7-4-
Quote:

ART. 12 . . . Offensive team members (excluding a runner or retired runner) shall not interfere with a fair batted ball or foul fly ball.

PENALTY: (Art. 12) The ball is dead immediately and the batter is out. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the interference prevented a possible double play, the batter and runner closest to home shall be declared out. Other runners shall be returned to the last base touched at the time of the pitch. (3-5-6; 7-5-4; 8-6-16)

Quote:

8-6-16
ART. 16 . . . Any coach or member of the offensive team, other than a runner, interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play. This includes, but is not limited to:

a. The coach near third base runs in the direction of home plate on or near the baseline while a fielder is attempting to make a play on a batted or thrown ball and thereby draws a throw to home plate.

b. A coach intentionally interferes with a thrown ball while in the coach's box, or interferes with the defensive team's opportunity to make a play on another runner.

c. After being declared out or after scoring, a runner intentionally interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner. A runner continuing to run and drawing a throw may be considered a form of interference. This does not apply to the batter-runner running on the dropped third strike rule.

d. Member(s) of the offensive team stand or collect around a base to which a runner is advancing, thereby confusing the fielders and adding to the difficulty of making the play. Members of a team include bat/ball shaggers or any other person authorized to sit on the team's bench.

PENALTY: (Art. 16) The ball is dead and the runner closest to home plate at the time of the interference shall be declared out. [Each other runner must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference.
Thoughts?

IRISHMAFIA Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 813180)
NFHS
Is this a contradiction?
R1 on third...
Batter pops up to F6...
3B Coach interferes with F6 (similar to play in NFHS Softball Preseason Guide 2012 page 13)

I find it hard to believe that we give the defense 2 outs (7-4-12 AND 8-6-16) for one offense (that was not intended to prevent a double play...

7-4-



Thoughts?

Just a quick review, it seems one addresses interfering with the batted ball and the other with interferring with a fielder.

HugoTafurst Sat Jan 14, 2012 06:04pm

Ah, ball vs. Fielder... Missed that.
Thanks


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1