The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 21, 2003, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
Quote:
Originally posted by CecilOne
... if the crash causes the catcher (or any fielder) to lose the ball or lose position, then it sounds like interference (given the usual YHTBT).
If we accept the scenario on it's face-value description (ball, runner arriving at the same time), by ASA rule interpretation (POE 13 and 34) this is neither obstruction nor interference. Result of play stands. Runner tagged - out. Catcher drops ball - safe.

The only exception would be if UC was ruled.
OK, by reading "catcher receives the ball just as the runner is reaching home" as all arriving at the same time. I was visualizing that the catcher had received the ball and then the runner arrived home and collided.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1