The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2003, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
I was specifically referring to the case where the runner is straddling the foul line and gets hit with the thrown ball. Assuming all other requirements of the rule are in place (i.e. there is a play at 1st to be interfered with, that the throw is not coming from foul territory with a double base, and the runner is in the last half of the base path), then in ASA at least, the call is based on where the ball hits the runner.

If the ball hits the runner on a part of the runner's body that is in fair territory, then the interference / lane violation call is correct. If, OTOH, the ball hits the runner on a part of the runner's body that is in foul territory, then there is no call. ASA Case Play 8-2.16.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1