The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Interference Question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/79806-interference-question.html)

Andy Fri Sep 02, 2011 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan (Post 785176)
I can picture this...

- At the crack of the bat, umpire is taking a quick step to the catcher's left and removing his mask (kind of like the picture you posted in the other thread!). There are a few fractions of a second burned up.

- On a "line drive near the ground", umpire pauses slightly to make the call, to make sure there aren't any issues with the ball being trapped or to make sure the pitcher retains secure control of the ball before he signals the out (normal good timing). Maybe two more seconds gone before he starts to verbalize the catch.

- If all that eats up a couple of seconds...batter could be halfway up the line with a pretty good head of steam by then.

- When the verbal call gets made, it is going to take another fraction of a second for the batter to react and several feet to decelerate (ie: can't go "poof").

I guess that I could imagine this working out where the batter is legitimately close to first base, even with a strong verbal call by the umpire.

Bret describes how I see this play....I don't envision the retired batter/runner doing anything she is not supposed to be doing, ie running to first base after she hits the ball.

The other point I'd like to make here is that if the defense had executed the play properly (not dropped the ball) this whole discussion would be moot. I just can't see on this specific play rewarding the defense with an out for misplaying the ball.

I can see Mike's rationale for the blocked ball call and would think that may be a more likely outcome for this play.

Tex Sat Sep 03, 2011 02:42pm

Then why is there a rule 8.6.18, if the "Blocked Ball" theory can be used?

AtlUmpSteve Sat Sep 03, 2011 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tex (Post 785374)
Then why is there a rule 8.6.18, if the "Blocked Ball" theory can be used?

They are both possible calls, depending on a judgment if a play was possible. If a play is possible, as judged by the umpire, 8-6-18 (NFHS) and 8.7-P (ASA) describe the ruling. If the umpire judges no play (thus no interference), then you shouldn't let the situation continue and develop to where a later play might be possible.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1