![]() |
The right no-call?
ASA slow pitch, co-ed.
Routine infield grounder. The throw, while well in time, pulls the first baseman off the bag, and never gets the out. The batter-runner goes over first base, making no contact with it. I say and signal nothing. I simply wait for the batter-runner to "return" to first before calling her safe. Instead, she assumes she's out, and simply goes back to the dugout. I quietly signal out. Did I handle this one correctly? |
I would have handled it differently.
Once the runner passes the base, we should hesitate slightly to give the defense time to make any appeal, then call the runner safe if no appeal is made. Out of curiosity, do you come from a baseball background? |
I hate to admit it but,
I have to agree with NCASA...like that never happens.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Then you might have an appeal in which to rule. Handle that when the defense executes a proper live ball appeal. The problem (and this is where Dave's "hesitation" comes in) arises in FP vs. SP. In the former, we do not call "time" when action has stopped, there is a constant "flow" (if you will). In the latter, we do call "time" when the action has ceased and the ball is in the infield. Where that could cause problems is your timing through the game is to call "time" before the BR starts to return to first. Then you "hesitate" the one time when the BR missed the base/used the white portion. That slight hesitation could mean something to an observant defense. Note: Missing home without a tag is a different situation due to there being a tag rather than a force play at first. Two different situations, two different mechanics. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Brain fart. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Why wouldn't you verbal "PULL - SAFE"?
The opportunity is still there for a live ball appeal. |
Quote:
I only verbalize "pulled foot" if it's not extremely obvious to everyone. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Well... if you're not out, you're safe, right?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Interpretation of Rule 7.01: Appeal Plays: Approved Rulings (12) Batter-runner hits a ground ball and beats the play at first base but misses the bag. Ruling: The proper mechanic is for the umpire to call the runner safe, indicating he beat the play. If the defense appeals by tagging the runner (or base) and appealing that the runner missed first base before the runner returns to first base, the batter-runner would be declared out. Sounds pretty "softball-like" to me! :D |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47am. |