The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 06, 2011, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by strike4 View Post
Here is what happened:

While U1 was sweeping plate, offensive coach in dugout stepped out of the dugout and told the batter who was walking to the plate to hit the ball. U1 told the coach that that was his offensive conference for the inning. The 3rd base coach did not hear this. Later in the inning play was stopped so 3rd base coach started talking to the next batter while U1 was in the infield. When U1 turned around and saw the coach talking to the next batter he immediately told the coach that he could not talk to the batter since they had already used their offensive conference for the inning. The third base coach got mad because he did not know about the previous conference. The defensive coach ask if the batter is out since the offensive team had violated the second offensive conference rule. U1 told him no and told the girls to play ball. Defensive coach got mad and ask for the UIC to be called to the field. The UIC came to the field, but determined that U1 handle the issue correctly. Of course every play from that point on was a fuss.
Well, you have a choice, not call the first one a conference which it doesn't sound like it is; or eject the coach for the 2nd conference. However, in no case is a player ruled out.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 06, 2011, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by strike4 View Post
Here is what happened:

While U1 was sweeping plate, offensive coach in dugout stepped out of the dugout and told the batter who was walking to the plate to hit the ball. U1 told the coach that that was his offensive conference for the inning. The 3rd base coach did not hear this. Later in the inning play was stopped so 3rd base coach started talking to the next batter while U1 was in the infield. When U1 turned around and saw the coach talking to the next batter he immediately told the coach that he could not talk to the batter since they had already used their offensive conference for the inning. The third base coach got mad because he did not know about the previous conference. The defensive coach ask if the batter is out since the offensive team had violated the second offensive conference rule. U1 told him no and told the girls to play ball. Defensive coach got mad and ask for the UIC to be called to the field. The UIC came to the field, but determined that U1 handle the issue correctly. Of course every play from that point on was a fuss.
CHARGED CONFERENCE: When a team representative requests a suspension of play or delays the game for the purpose of delivering a message to another team member.

I'm failing to see how either of these was a conference.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 06, 2011, 04:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
CHARGED CONFERENCE: When a team representative requests a suspension of play or delays the game for the purpose of delivering a message to another team member.

I'm failing to see how either of these was a conference.
I agree. From the description, it sounds like it might have been OOO.
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 06, 2011, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by strike4 View Post
Here is what happened:

While U1 was sweeping plate, offensive coach in dugout stepped out of the dugout and told the batter who was walking to the plate to hit the ball. U1 told the coach that that was his offensive conference for the inning. The 3rd base coach did not hear this. Later in the inning play was stopped so 3rd base coach started talking to the next batter while U1 was in the infield. When U1 turned around and saw the coach talking to the next batter he immediately told the coach that he could not talk to the batter since they had already used their offensive conference for the inning. The third base coach got mad because he did not know about the previous conference. The defensive coach ask if the batter is out since the offensive team had violated the second offensive conference rule. U1 told him no and told the girls to play ball. Defensive coach got mad and ask for the UIC to be called to the field. The UIC came to the field, but determined that U1 handle the issue correctly. Of course every play from that point on was a fuss.
I guess you are using "U1" to represent the plate umpire? Typically, U1 is the 1B umpire and U3 is the 3B umpire.
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 06, 2011, 04:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 68
Yes. I stand corrected.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 06, 2011, 04:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Well, you have a choice, not call the first one a conference which it doesn't sound like it is; or eject the coach for the 2nd conference. However, in no case is a player ruled out.
I agree.

I might nudge it along with a, "let's keep it moving, coach," but if it's just a couple of words to the next batter, I've got nothing.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 06, 2011, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 861
How can it possibly be a conf if PU is dusting plate? Time is already out.
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 07, 2011, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Midwest
Posts: 386
Why ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by strike4 View Post
Here is what happened:

While U1 was sweeping plate, offensive coach in dugout stepped out of the dugout and told the batter who was walking to the plate to hit the ball. U1 told the coach that that was his offensive conference for the inning.
Do you agree with this call ? By the way you write this it would seem to be a power trip by the U1?
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 07, 2011, 07:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 293
Over officiating is what that is. Just wrong.
__________________
ASA,NCAA,FED,NAFA
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 07, 2011, 08:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Gotta ask. Was he in the proper position or did the player just throw the ball somewhere she shouldn't have?
Wild throw. 1st baseman didn't realize they had 3 outs and tried to make a play at the plate. PU had taken his mask off and took a step towards his water @ 3rd base dugout. Catcher went to dugout, 1st base threw the ball hard trying to make a play. PU took his eyes off the ball, next thing he knows he was looking at the sky. CAT scan confirmed concussion, no more games @ tourney.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 07, 2011, 08:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by strike4 View Post
Here is what happened:

While U1 was sweeping plate, offensive coach in dugout stepped out of the dugout and told the batter who was walking to the plate to hit the ball. U1 told the coach that that was his offensive conference for the inning. The 3rd base coach did not hear this. Later in the inning play was stopped so 3rd base coach started talking to the next batter while U1 was in the infield. When U1 turned around and saw the coach talking to the next batter he immediately told the coach that he could not talk to the batter since they had already used their offensive conference for the inning. The third base coach got mad because he did not know about the previous conference. The defensive coach ask if the batter is out since the offensive team had violated the second offensive conference rule. U1 told him no and told the girls to play ball. Defensive coach got mad and ask for the UIC to be called to the field. The UIC came to the field, but determined that U1 handle the issue correctly. Of course every play from that point on was a fuss.
I know the coaches involved, didn't realize it was them till last night. Strike4's account of the event is accurate as far as I can tell.

Not the first account during the weekend where this particular umpire had an issue. The other time was with another umpire. Possible case of short man's disease.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do you take to a National? DaveASA/FED Softball 39 Mon Aug 05, 2013 09:03am
ASA National School IN ASA BLUE Softball 12 Thu Feb 19, 2009 01:44pm
My First National Chess Ref Softball 11 Thu Aug 09, 2007 01:02pm
1st National canump Softball 0 Wed Aug 02, 2006 01:13pm
National Anthem bluezebra Baseball 44 Wed Oct 26, 2005 08:24pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1