The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   How long do you require control for a tag? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/74408-how-long-do-you-require-control-tag.html)

DaveASA/FED Mon Jul 11, 2011 03:14pm

How long do you require control for a tag?
 
Ok I know there is no time limit but what do you look for to make sure the fielder had control while applying the tag? Speaking ASA there isn't the necessity for voluntary release like there is for a catch, so what do you look for to feel confident that there was control during the tag?

Bandit Mon Jul 11, 2011 03:20pm

Ball in glove or hand....
 
Ball in glove or hand and not on ground when any type of voluntary movement is made.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jul 11, 2011 05:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED (Post 771839)
Ok I know there is no time limit but what do you look for to make sure the fielder had control while applying the tag?

I just need to observe control during the tag.

Quote:

Speaking ASA there isn't the necessity for voluntary release like there is for a catch,
Well, it isn't for a catch, either.

Quote:

so what do you look for to feel confident that there was control during the tag?
As noted, just control of the ball at the time of the tag.

tcannizzo Mon Jul 11, 2011 06:41pm

As a Supreme Court judge once said, "It is hard to define, but I know it when I see it."

DaveASA/FED Mon Jul 11, 2011 09:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 771854)
Well, it isn't for a catch, either.

Really? I thought the definition section A article 1 meant you did have to have voluntary release

"To establish a valid catch, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove control of it and/or that the release of the ball is voluntary."

I read that to say that the voluntary release is necessary. So I read that to say that they have to hold the ball long enough to prove control and voluntary release it.

What am I missing??

BretMan Mon Jul 11, 2011 09:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED (Post 771885)
What am I missing??

The part that says "and/or". Both clauses satisfy the requirement and either one of them can apply. It doesn't have to be both.

Here's one...ball hit deep to left field. F7 makes a clean catch at the fence. While jogging in, and about at the infield dirt, the ball is accidently dropped.

Do you rule "no catch" because the release was not voluntary? Or do you have a catch because the ball was held long enough to demonstrate control?

CelticNHBlue Tue Jul 12, 2011 08:05am

Mike answered it, control through the application of the tag. The question was not in regards to a catch but a tag. The question I ask myself is: did the application of the tag cause the control of the ball to be lost? If yes, not a tag and safe; if no, tag and out

BretMan Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CelticNHBlue (Post 771957)
Mike answered it, control through the application of the tag. The question was not in regards to a catch but a tag.

The OP was about a tag.

Then Dave said he thought that the "voluntary release" thing applied equally to a tag or a catch.

Then Mike pointed out that it doesn't necessarily.

Then Dave questioned it's application with respect to a catch.

Then I addressed Dave's question about a catch.

Sometimes people throw other questions into the mix besides the first one they asked!

Dakota Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan (Post 772031)
...Sometimes people throw other questions into the mix besides the first one they asked!

Nah, we never do that! ;)

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jul 12, 2011 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan (Post 772031)
Sometimes people throw other questions into the mix besides the first one they asked!

Do not!

What type of beer?

Andy Wed Jul 13, 2011 09:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 772113)
Do not!

What type of beer?


It was only a matter of time.......:D

CecilOne Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:06am

What about a thrown ball "caught" (e.g. F3) with glove on ground, possible trap. If the fielder brings glove and ball up immediately, that's control. But if delayed, what time or move would create doubt in your mind that the ball was trapped on the ground and not controlled?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1