The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Obstruction and over running the base! (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/72551-obstruction-over-running-base.html)

Linknblue Thu Jun 16, 2011 07:41pm

Obstruction and over running the base!
 
ASA and men's rec slowpitch. Runner going into 2nd standing with throw coming about the same time. 2nd basemen misses ball and runner must now go around him to head for 3rd. I signal obstruction. Ball is retrieved and thrown to 3rd and in time for tag. Before I can announce the obstruction ruling (runner was going to be safe cuz of obstruction) instead of sliding he over runs 3rd and is again tagged coming back. I rule him out cuz he was only going to be safe the 1st time to 3rd, not the 2nd time. Correct ruling?: :):confused:

RKBUmp Thu Jun 16, 2011 08:02pm

Obstruction is a delayed dead ball, if he was tagged prior to reaching 3rd base, the moment he was put out it is a dead ball. From that point on, any overrunning bases and subsequent tags never happened.

MD Longhorn Fri Jun 17, 2011 08:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Linknblue (Post 766130)
ASA and men's rec slowpitch. Runner going into 2nd standing with throw coming about the same time. 2nd basemen misses ball and runner must now go around him to head for 3rd. I signal obstruction. Ball is retrieved and thrown to 3rd and in time for tag. Before I can announce the obstruction ruling (runner was going to be safe cuz of obstruction) instead of sliding he over runs 3rd and is again tagged coming back. I rule him out cuz he was only going to be safe the 1st time to 3rd, not the 2nd time. Correct ruling?: :):confused:

Nope.

Andy Fri Jun 17, 2011 10:04am

I can't tell from the OP if the first tag was applied before the obstructed runner reached third base or after the obstructed runner overran third base, or both, so I will have a two-part response


If the first tag was applied prior to the runner reaching third base, umpire should immediately call DEAD BALL! and place any runners at the bases they would have obtained without the obstruction. Since the ball is dead, the second tag (coming back to third) didn't happen.

If the tag was not applied prior to the obstructed runner reaching third base, then the runner runs past third base, s/he has passed the base they are being protected to (third base, if I read your scenario correctly) and are "on their own" and no longer protected due to the obstruction. If the runner is tagged returning to third base, the out stands.

MD Longhorn Fri Jun 17, 2011 10:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 766276)
I can't tell from the OP if the first tag was applied before the obstructed runner reached third base or after the obstructed runner overran third base, or both, so I will have a two-part response.

Quote:

Ball is retrieved and thrown to 3rd and in time for tag.
This happened before the overrunning of the base, but before BU could announce the OBS.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1