The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   My First Ever Official Protest (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/71806-my-first-ever-official-protest.html)

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jun 24, 2011 09:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 768313)
Curious how this would be called. Is this an obstruction violation or simply rule as safe as if the fielder never touched any part of either side of the safety base? Say the fielder has the ball well in advance of the runner getting there, runner thinks he'll be out so veers around the bag/fielder, never touching the base. Since the fielder had the ball, does this rule out a possibility of OBS?

How could it be OBS if the defender has the ball? Now, if the BR checked up or contacted the the defender prior to him/her receiving the ball, it could be OBS, but that is not the case in the play.

NCASAUmp Sat Jun 25, 2011 06:52pm

Reported.

Tru_in_Blu Mon Jun 27, 2011 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 768405)
How could it be OBS if the defender has the ball? Now, if the BR checked up or contacted the the defender prior to him/her receiving the ball, it could be OBS, but that is not the case in the play.

I'm still wondering if the BR has a right to touch the orange base. If the fielder jumps up and comes down solely on the orange base, the runner veers to avoid a collision and does not touch either base, do we rule safe as in the case where a runner passes the base (but doesn't touch it) prior to the fielder receiving the ball? In the latter case, an appeal would have to be made on the BR prior to his return to the base.

Is such an appeal a possibility here? Or do we simply have an out at first?

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jun 27, 2011 04:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 768953)
I'm still wondering if the BR has a right to touch the orange base.

The BR always, without exception, may use the colored portion of the base.

Quote:

If the fielder jumps up and comes down solely on the orange base, the runner veers to avoid a collision and does not touch either base, do we rule safe as in the case where a runner passes the base (but doesn't touch it) prior to the fielder receiving the ball?
If the defender does not have the ball and is impeding the runner's attempt to progess to a base, that is OBS no matter what base.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1