The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Brain Dead (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/7167-brain-dead.html)

whiskers_ump Sun Jan 26, 2003 04:01pm

Well guess Mike was right when he said we should take breaks
from the game now and then.

Here is situtation that happened to me and partner.

Bases loaded, no outs, batter strikes out, catcher misses the ball
and all runners including BR start running. Runner from 3rd comes
home easily, however, runner on 2nd [probably the only one on the
field that was aware of situtation] hesitates and F2 throws a
strike to 3rd. I see ball beat runner call runner out. F1 has
ball in circle, when I realize the error {BU} and call time and
wave both coaches and partner over to 3rd base area. Explain
situtation and tell both I am going to correct the call and put
the runner back on 3rd, and that we have only 1 out, the K. Both
agree, offensive coach somewhat slower to agree than the defensive
coach.

Question: Should the change have been corrected. It was a violation
[and a terrible call] of the rules? Offensive coach did not and
probably would not have caught it before the pitch, however,
some of his players and assistant coaches were yelling.:rolleyes:
Wonder why?:(
glen

Roger Greene Sun Jan 26, 2003 04:17pm

Glenn,
I think you are ok to correct call.
(1) Misapplication of rules.
(2) No continuing action.
(3) Game went forward as if correct call had been made.

Question: Why would the ofensive coach rather have R1 and R2 than R2 and R3 with one out? That I don't understand.
(Oh well. There were things I did as a coach that I don't understand either.)

Roger Greene

oatmealqueen Sun Jan 26, 2003 07:57pm

Could you please..
 
explain your logic for trying to correct this sitch? I'm a little confused why you put runners here and there. What ruling did you use? Please give a little more info about this play.
Thanks...

whiskers_ump Sun Jan 26, 2003 08:08pm

oatmealqueen,

The object of the game is to get it right. I realized the
error before any further action had been taken, so I corrected
it. The only person it hurt was me since it showed I had blown
an interpretation of the rules. I only put the runner back that
I had erroneously called out. The play at 3rd was not a force
play, and that was the way I had ruled on it. So I corrected
my error. Roger had a good question, but the offensive coach
did not question it.

For further insight, in fastpitch softball, if the catcher misses
the 3rd strike, with 1st unoccupied, the runners may attempt to
advance. However, in my situtation the bases were jammed with less
than two outs, so batter runner could not advance legally, but
all others could attempt. When runner left and scored from 3rd
the force was removed. I just blew the original call, but did
manage to correct it.

glen

[Edited by whiskers_ump on Jan 26th, 2003 at 07:15 PM]

oatmealqueen Sun Jan 26, 2003 08:45pm

Thanks..
 
I was thinking that you put the runner that had scored back at third. I also thought you had a tag at 3rd as well.
Thanks for the information.
You got the end result correct. I would have done the same thing.

Steve M Sun Jan 26, 2003 10:55pm

Glen,
Good & bad here. If coaches have input to evaluations, you'll take some grief for the initial problem. But they should also give credit that you corrected things after thinking about it. Yes, it was correct of you to fix the problem in this case.

Now, why was R2 put back on 3B, wasn't there a tag play here with R2 put out?

Steve M

bluezebra Mon Jan 27, 2003 03:35am

"Now, why was R2 put back on 3B, wasn't there a tag play here with R2 put out?"

Steve, the original scenario has the runner called out on a force, not a tag, at third.

Bob


Steve M Mon Jan 27, 2003 04:24am

Bob,
Duh, missed that one. Guess that's fitting witha topic title of brain dead.

Steve M

Buck912 Tue Jan 28, 2003 04:16pm

Glenn, I have to agree that our purpose is to get the calls right and make the situation right, especially if we possibly cause a disadvantage to a team by misapplication of a rule. I think you did the right thing! Sometimes it may take a little time to think a situation over and contrary to what some coaches and fans may think, we do make some good calls occasionally. Congrats again for having the courage to do so........


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1