The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Strike three rolls under fence (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/71345-strike-three-rolls-under-fence.html)

amcnewman Thu Jun 02, 2011 06:13am

Strike three rolls under fence
 
This happened last night. Bases loaded nobody out, batter swings and misses for strike three. Catcher misses the ball completely and it goes through a hole under the backstop out of play. All three base runners just stand there. Are all of the base runners awarded a base?

IRISHMAFIA Thu Jun 02, 2011 06:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by amcnewman (Post 762860)
This happened last night. Bases loaded nobody out, batter swings and misses for strike three. Catcher misses the ball completely and it goes through a hole under the backstop out of play. All three base runners just stand there. Are all of the base runners awarded a base?

Yes. The batter is out and each runner is advanced one base. ASA 8.5.C, NFHS 8.4.3.c (even though the wording could be improved)

amcnewman Thu Jun 02, 2011 12:34pm

Does that rule not state "when a pitched ball that remains alive lodges or goes under or over or through the backstop" so my question becomes, is a dropped third strike ball dead or alive if the bases are loaded with nobody out?

AtlUmpSteve Thu Jun 02, 2011 12:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by amcnewman (Post 762919)
Does that rule not state "when a pitched ball that remains alive lodges or goes under or over or through the backstop" so my question becomes, is a dropped third strike ball dead or alive if the bases are loaded with nobody out?

With first base occupied and less than two outs, the dropped third strike rule does not apply. Batter is out on third strike, the ball remains live just like every other pitch not touching the batter or fouled, until it rolls under the fence.

The runners do advance one base on the pitched ball leaving the field of play.

DaveASA/FED Thu Jun 02, 2011 12:41pm

To answer that question I have a question. What would make it a dead ball? Did any of those happen in this case?

Dropped 3rd are always live balls runners can advance at their own risk, the only questions is if the batter-runner can attempt to advance to 1st in your case the answer is NO. So as Irish already stated all runners advance 1 base, batter is out, bring me the next up to bat :D

CecilOne Thu Jun 02, 2011 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED (Post 762924)
To answer that question I have a question. What would make it a dead ball? Did any of those happen in this case?

Whom are you answering? :confused:

amcnewman Thu Jun 02, 2011 12:55pm

Thank all you have been very helpful

celebur Thu Jun 02, 2011 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 762926)
Who are you answering? :confused:

He's obviously answering himself! ;)

The more pertinent question would be, "Whom are you questioning?" I assume the OP.

MD Longhorn Thu Jun 02, 2011 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 762926)
Who are you answering? :confused:

Post 3, it seems to me.

DaveASA/FED Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 762926)
Whom are you answering? :confused:

Yes sorry I was answering, or questioning post from yesterday at 5:34. About if the ball is live or dead.

SC Ump Fri Jun 03, 2011 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 762865)
... NFHS 8.4.3.c (even though the wording could be improved)

1. "The batter is awarded first base only on the fourth ball." (The batter is awarded only first base on the fourth ball.)
2. "The batter is awarded first base only on the fourth ball." (The batter is awarded first base on the fourth ball only.)

You are right about the wording needing to be improved. I don't know if they are dangling a participial or prepositional phrase, but they've dangled something. I always read it as #1. Perhaps because the new guys, including me when I was new, always ask, "Does that it mean on ball four they get second?" And in response we point them to that statement.

On a dropped third stike going out of play, I would have awarded the BR first if they otherwise had the right to occupy it. Since #2 above is certaining different than that, I'm not sure what I'd do now. It has not happened since '89. Maybe it will keep not happening on the fields I'm on, at least until the wording is redone.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1