![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I do agree with your application of 10.3.C, and your placement of runners after the reversal of the call. At the risk of stating the obvious, the PU has the lead runner on the base hit. When she rounded third, she is the PUs runner, the BU then has the trailing runner. The PU should have covered the rundown by himself, while the BU covered the trailing runners, while being available to offer another set of eyes if needed. If you are both on the rundown, you have no idea what happened while R2 and R3 were advancing to second and third base during the rundown.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
We are taught this mechanic from the umpire manual "There are four times when the base umpire will make the call at third base. 1) On the B/R on a triple with no runners on base 2) On the last runner into third base 3) On a lone runner on fly ball advancement 4) On any return throw from the plate area or cut of by a player." As soon as there was a 'return' throw, (and I button hooked from the C slot), I was drawn into to the call at third. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In your situation, with runners on 1st and 2nd and a base hit, the PU should come up toward third base to take the lead runner there, then be prepared to take her home if necessary. The BU comes inside the infield, watches the two trailing runners touch their respective bases, looks for obstruction, etc, etc... When the lead runner rounded third, the PU has her all the way. When the rundown situation became apparent..the whole thing belongs to the PU. Good communication helps here alot..."Partner, I got this this, you got the other runners."
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
You have done this before..... |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/softball/70193-application-asa-10-3-c-detailed-play.html
|
||||
| Posted By | For | Type | Date | |
| Any The "Elastic Rule" ? - Page 2 | This thread | Refback | Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:53pm | |
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Application of the lookback rule | BratzCoach | Softball | 29 | Mon Jul 18, 2011 03:34pm |
| Looking for a detailed pre-game | MichiganOfficial | Basketball | 2 | Sat Feb 11, 2006 09:56am |
| Proper application of OBS? | U of M Sam | Softball | 1 | Sun Jul 10, 2005 12:03pm |
| Application of 9.01(c) | akalsey | Baseball | 20 | Tue Jun 15, 2004 12:49pm |