The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 08:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 15
greatest interference play i ever heard

A fellow umpire gave me this scenario
scored tied,bottom of the 7th runners on 2nd and 3rd high fly ball hit to ss runner from 3rd base raises home, runner on 2nd base grabs ss as she is ready to catch fly ball (remember runner on 3rd touched home when interference accurs) would you let the winning run to score?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyump View Post
A fellow umpire gave me this scenario
scored tied,bottom of the 7th runners on 2nd and 3rd high fly ball hit to ss runner from 3rd base raises home, runner on 2nd base grabs ss as she is ready to catch fly ball (remember runner on 3rd touched home when interference accurs) would you let the winning run to score?
Dead ball on the interference, which is a batted ball. No action can occur as a result.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 15
interference happened after the runner crossed home
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 293
No
__________________
ASA,NCAA,FED,NAFA
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyump View Post
interference happened after the runner crossed home
On a batted ball!
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
Think to yourself here Andy. If SS had caught the fly ball, and had not been interfered with at all, and then had thrown to third on an appeal, what would you have had?
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.

Last edited by Skahtboi; Mon May 16, 2011 at 09:05am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyump View Post
interference happened after the runner crossed home
Doesn't matter.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 15
remember fellow umps last base touched at the time of interference so runner on 3rd already touched home when inter ference occurs
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyump View Post
remember fellow umps last base touched at the time of interference so runner on 3rd already touched home when inter ference occurs

Answer my previous question about the ball being caught. Do you care then that the runner has already crossed home? Or, will you honor the appeal?
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyump View Post
remember fellow umps last base touched at the time of interference so runner on 3rd already touched home when inter ference occurs
Oh...also, for the play you stated in the OP, the information you provide here is totally irrelevant.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
An out on the appeal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
Think to yourself here Andy. If SS had caught the fly ball, and had not been interfered with at all, and then had thrown to third on an appeal, what would you have had?
But that's not what happened in the OP. I would let the run score as home was the last base legally touched prior to the interference. The argument could be made that since he left early home was not "legally" touched. However, I would not interpret it that way because we are never to give away that a runner left early. This, in my opinion, is similar to assuming that a runner touched a base unless properly appealed. Then you rule on the appeal. So, until a valid appeal is made at third, I would score the run but wait to leave the field in order to give the defense a chance to appeal.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Sure it matters

Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
Doesn't matter.
You don't put the runner back on third. He touched home before the appeal. Score the run, but wait to leave the field to give the defense an opportunity to appeal the runner leaving early.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
How is it irrelevant?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
Oh...also, for the play you stated in the OP, the information you provide here is totally irrelevant.
It is most certainly relevant as on any interference call, you put runners back to the last base touched.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
In my old 2008 ASA rule book:

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8.2
BATTER RUNNER IS OUT...K. When the immediate previous runner who is not out intentionally interferes, in the umpire’s judgment, with a fielder who is attempting to catch a thrown ball or throw a ball in an attempt to complete the play on the batter-runner.
EFFECT: The runner shall also be called out.
and

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5.5.B
No run shall be scored if the third out of the inning is the result of:
1. A batter-runner being called out prior to reaching first base or any other
runner forced out due to the batter becoming a batter-runner. On an
appeal play, the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not
when the infraction occurred.
R2 would have been the "immediate" previous runner, no? No run scores.

EDIT: Oops, 8.2.K is a "thrown" ball. Hmmm...
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
The OP didn't include the number of outs

Also, the interference was on batted ball, not a thrown ball. So 8.2.K doesn't apply. The exception to 8.7J-L does apply. If the interference prevents the fielder from catching a routine fly ball, fair or foul, with ordinary effort, the batter is also out.

So if there were two outs, then the run would not score.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NBA: Greatest Dunk?? Juulie Downs Basketball 5 Sat Nov 14, 2009 12:40pm
Worlds greatest IP? wadeintothem Softball 18 Tue Sep 01, 2009 08:55am
10 Greatest College Players GregBar Football 19 Tue Jan 22, 2008 08:05pm
I'd heard that Ruth used to play drunk, but... WhatWuzThatBlue Baseball 3 Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:24pm
Greatest player - really Mark Padgett Basketball 78 Fri Apr 25, 2003 03:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1