The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   True Statement? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/67797-true-statement.html)

clev1967 Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:25pm

True Statement?
 
This time of year I like to go over some things in my head and make sure I am interpreting them correctly.

So is the following correct: (Speaking both FED and NCAA)

A base runner is not out on a ball that hits them after it passes an IF (excluding the P) unless it is intentional.

A base runner can commit interference on an IF even after ball passes another IF if the ball has not been deflected and the second IF has an opportunity to make a play on the ball.

I have read the book, just trying to simplify without misinterpreting.

MD Longhorn Thu Apr 21, 2011 01:06pm

Both sentences are a little vague. Not sure either are universally true.

Re sitch 1, ball hit just to the left of a drawn in F3, right at F4 - R1 from first collides with F4 before the ball gets there. Out. But not according to your statement.

Re sitch 2... Two things. First, "A base runner can commit interference"... do you mean "it is possible for a baserunner to be called out for interference", or "A baserunner is allowed to commit interference"? Second, this SEEMS to contradict sitch 1.

celebur Thu Apr 21, 2011 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 752345)
Re sitch 1, ball hit just to the left of a drawn in F3, right at F4 - R1 from first collides with F4 before the ball gets there. Out. But not according to your statement.

He's talking about a fair-batted ball the hits the runner.

clev1967 Thu Apr 21, 2011 01:25pm

Kind of hard for a drawn in F3 to have a play on a ball hit right at F4.

clev1967 Thu Apr 21, 2011 01:27pm

I hear you on the "can commit" I meant a runner can be called out for INT.

topper Thu Apr 21, 2011 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by clev1967 (Post 752334)
So is the following correct: (Speaking both FED and NCAA)

A base runner is not out on a ball that hits them after it passes an IF (excluding the P) unless it is intentional.

If no other fielder has an opportunity to make a play, this is true.
Quote:

Originally Posted by clev1967 (Post 752334)
A base runner can commit interference on an IF even after ball passes another IF if the ball has not been deflected and the second IF has an opportunity to make a play on the ball.

True if hit by a batted ball, but it doesn't have to be an infielder.

MD Longhorn Thu Apr 21, 2011 06:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by celebur (Post 752347)
He's talking about a fair-batted ball the hits the runner.

Yes, obviously... did I lead you to think I thought something else? Not sure where you're going with that comment.

MD Longhorn Thu Apr 21, 2011 06:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by clev1967 (Post 752350)
Kind of hard for a drawn in F3 to have a play on a ball hit right at F4.

First day on the softball field? No it's not. Happens all the time. Ditto a drawn in F5 having a play on a ball hit to F6. Happens all the time.

topper Thu Apr 21, 2011 09:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 752417)
Re sitch 1, ball hit just to the left of a drawn in F3, right at F4 - R1 from first collides with F4 before the ball gets there. Out. But not according to your statement.

Firstly, the OP was a question, not a statement.

Secondly, if the ball is hit to the left of a drawn in F3, I'm thinking it's down the line and doubtful it's "right at" F4.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder
First day on the softball field? No it's not. Happens all the time. Ditto a drawn in F5 having a play on a ball hit to F6. Happens all the time.

So what are you big-timing people now? For someone who posts primarily about how their 10U and 12U league games are going, I think that's a harsh way to treat a poster with a question.

Dakota Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by topper (Post 752447)
...Secondly, if the ball is hit to the left of a drawn in F3, I'm thinking it's down the line and doubtful it's "right at" F4...

"Left" is which direction on a ball field from F3? Which direction is left field from F3?

topper Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 752452)
"Left" is which direction on a ball field from F3? Which direction is left field from F3?

Are you kidding me? OK I'll play. Left field is to the RIGHT of F3.

clev1967 Fri Apr 22, 2011 07:38am

Remember the game a lot of us played as kids called the "telephone game"? One person would whisper a statement or question in another person's ear and the process would continue until it went through the whole class or group and by the end the original statement/question had been turned into something different......Well the telephone game is now called "Softball-The Official Forum".

clev1967 Fri Apr 22, 2011 07:40am

And Crowder you are correct I have never been on a ball field in my life and you are a GOD.

Dakota Fri Apr 22, 2011 08:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by topper (Post 752458)
Are you kidding me? OK I'll play. Left field is to the RIGHT of F3.

From who's perspective? The left side of the field is the left side of the field.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Apr 22, 2011 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 752547)
From who's perspective? The left side of the field is the left side of the field.

That depends on which way you are facing. After all, anyone playing to the left of the LF sees left field to their right, right? :rolleyes:

clev1967 Fri Apr 22, 2011 12:51pm

The left fielder is called the left fielder for a reason as is the right fielder.
3B and SS are called the left side of the infield.

How is this even a debate.

So in football if you are the defense is the left tackle the right tackle?????

argodad Sat Apr 23, 2011 09:28am

Wow. This thread turned to the absurd. Did it turn left or right? (Depends which way you are facing.)

MD Longhorn Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by topper (Post 752458)
Are you kidding me? OK I'll play. Left field is to the RIGHT of F3.

OK, now you're just being intentionally stupid to back up your error. A ball hit "to the left of the first baseman" is hit toward the 2nd baseman or between them ... NOT down the line. You made a mistake, we all do. Move on... don't make it dumber.

topper Mon Apr 25, 2011 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 753195)
OK, now you're just being intentionally stupid to back up your error. A ball hit "to the left of the first baseman" is hit toward the 2nd baseman or between them ... NOT down the line. You made a mistake, we all do. Move on... don't make it dumber.

I made a mistake based on what, your opinion?

I can't name an umpire that I work with who would not consider a ball hit "to the left of the first baseman" or "to the first baseman's left" down the line. The fielder's perspective is what is considered.

The whole "left of" issue has deflected the reason for my response to your "First day on a softball field?" comment. Stay on point "Big Time".

CecilOne Mon Apr 25, 2011 02:33pm

OK, enough is enough. If you two want to bicker, please switch to email. :(

MD Longhorn Tue Apr 26, 2011 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by topper (Post 753218)
I made a mistake based on what, your opinion?

I can't name an umpire that I work with who would not consider a ball hit "to the left of the first baseman" or "to the first baseman's left" down the line. The fielder's perspective is what is considered.

The whole "left of" issue has deflected the reason for my response to your "First day on a softball field?" comment. Stay on point "Big Time".

Not meaning to "bicker"! :)

The FDonSF comment seems to have been born from your "mistake". I don't know a single umpire, player, coach, or reasonable fan who would look at the field the way you do. By the logic you're using, a ball hit to the RIGHT of the pitcher goes to the LEFT side of the infield or LEFT field... and a ball hit to the LEFT of the pitcher goes to the RIGHT side of the infield or RIGHT field. You want to live that way, fine. I don't really care - your listeners will consider you idiotic if you do, but again, I don't care.

And I don't think it's "big time" to understand which side of the field is which. But that misunderstanding and your insistence that a ball hit to the left of F3 could not possibly be near F4 is what brought my comment. Obviously, if you think about it... to anyone who realizes that LEFT of F3 means toward F4 (or at least between F3 and F4), your comment that you've never seen that before would surely sound like you've never been on the field before.

I'm not trying to Big Time you... I have no place to do so. And I apologize if you took it that way.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1