![]() |
Double First Base Play - NFHS
This play happened yesterday in a high school game played under NFHS rules:
No runners on. B3 hits sharp ground ball to F3 who boots the fair ball into foul territory where she goes to retrieve it. She then runs across the bag only stepping on the Orange (foul) safety base. Then B3 passes and touches only the Orange bag. Umpire ruled the runner safe and F3 'off the bag'. Was this a correct ruling? I know that on throws coming from foul territory (ie dropped third strikes), the fielder and runner can 'switch' bases to avoid a collision, but what about plays not involving a throw? If a rule reference or case book play can be included, that would be wonderful. Thanks. |
Rule 8 Section 10 Article 2...The defense and the batter-runner may use either the white or the colored portion:
a. On any force out attempt from the foul side of first base.. The umpire should read this. |
Thanks for the rule reference.
I'll tell him. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59pm. |