The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   NFHS incidental contact? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/65641-nfhs-incidental-contact.html)

roadking Sat Mar 26, 2011 06:32am

NFHS incidental contact?
 
Very windy day!
Batter runner hits a high flyball just in front of the plate, down the rightside.
F3 playing down the line, intially turns back to cover 1st base then decides to make a play on the ball and turns and steps into the base path of the batter runner, creating solid contact between the two players. Ball was caught in foul territory by F1.
In my judgement, I had no call on the play(wreck), BR could not avoid the contact.
Now my dilemma is, If this ball had dropped in fair territory, I may of leaned more toward obstruction, but F3 possibly could of caught the ball.
I know NFHS wants a call on this kinda of contact.
Any input would be appreciated.
Thanks

LIUmp Sat Mar 26, 2011 07:31am

You never thought interference on the batter runner?

Tru_in_Blu Sat Mar 26, 2011 08:52am

I don't think you can have a 'wreck' on a batted ball.

roadking Sat Mar 26, 2011 09:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LIBlueASA (Post 743971)
You never thought interference on the batter runner?

I understand the BR has the responsebility of trying to avoid the contact, but in my judgement, I dont think the BR could of anticapated F3 stopping and turning and stepping in front of her.
It was a goofy HS move.
I was just wondering if anyone could find a rules reference to support my judgement call?

marvin Sat Mar 26, 2011 03:08pm

NFHS 2-36

Quote:

SECTION 36 OBSTRUCTION (DEFENSE)
Obstruction is the act of the defensive team member that hinders or impedes a batter's attempt to make contact with a pitched ball or that impedes the progress of a runner or batter-runner who is legally running bases, unless the fielder is in possession of the ball or is making the initial play on a batted ball. The act may be intentional or unintentional, physical or verbal.
If the fielder, in your judgment, is making the initial play on a batted ball you would have interference. If the fielder was making the initial play it does not matter what the runner could have anticipated.

One of the exceptions that allows an obstructed runner to still be out is:

Quote:

6. When the batter-runner is obstructed between two bases and she flies out.
So if you had judged obstruction on the play you described the batter is still out because of the caught fly ball.

It all boils down to whether, in the judgment of the umpire, the player that the batter/runner collided with was making an initial play on the batted ball. There does not have to be intent for interference to occur.

roadking Sat Mar 26, 2011 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by marvin (Post 744037)
NFHS 2-36



If the fielder, in your judgment, is making the initial play on a batted ball you would have interference. If the fielder was making the initial play it does not matter what the runner could have anticipated.

One of the exceptions that allows an obstructed runner to still be out is:



So if you had judged obstruction on the play you described the batter is still out because of the caught fly ball.

It all boils down to whether, in the judgment of the umpire, the player that the batter/runner collided with was making an initial play on the batted ball. There does not have to be intent for interference to occur.

I was "what if in" the play if the ball had happened to drop in fair territory. My point of contention is F3 "intially" made a move to cover 1 base rather making the intial play on the ball, F3 move to catch the ball was a second thought.

CecilOne Sat Mar 26, 2011 04:55pm

I don't see how this could be OBS if the F3 is fielding the batted ball, regardless of misjudging the play to begin with.

Even though caught, maybe INT if ITUJ it prevented another play.

IRISHMAFIA Sat Mar 26, 2011 07:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 744058)
I don't see how this could be OBS if the F3 is fielding the batted ball, regardless of misjudging the play to begin with.

Even though caught, maybe INT if ITUJ it prevented another play.

I'm still waiting to see if F3 was the protected fielder. If not, I cannot see how this isn't OBS.

Doesn't mean I'm awarding the BR the base especially since it did not affect the play.

HugoTafurst Sat Mar 26, 2011 07:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 744058)
I don't see how this could be OBS if the F3 is fielding the batted ball, regardless of misjudging the play to begin with.

Even though caught, maybe INT if ITUJ it prevented another play.


Since F1 is described as catching the ball (and we weren't there) this brings up the question of was F3 truely making the initial play on the ball.

Similar to a discussion on the NFHS board whith which I'm sure you are familiar. ;-);)


NFHS Forum: Interference

HugoTafurst Sun Mar 27, 2011 07:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 744086)
I'm still waiting to see if F3 was the protected fielder. If not, I cannot see how this isn't OBS.

Doesn't mean I'm awarding the BR the base especially since it did not affect the play.

Looks like you were ahead of me - again.
This time by 3 minutes....

:)

Andy Mon Mar 28, 2011 11:16am

HTBT....but....

This is either obstruction or interference.

A few years back, when "about to receive" was taken out of the obstruction rule for NFHS, an interpretation was made that there were no more "train wrecks", you either had obstruction or interference.

That interpretation was softened somewhat to eliminate the play where the batter bunts in front of the plate and is leaving the box to run to first, the catcher is coming out to field the ball and the players collide. As long as both players are doing what they are supposed to be doing...this is nothing. And it is specific to this play only!

Here is a link to a short article by Emily Alexander written while she was on the NFHS rules commitee:

Edification & Education ::

Scroll down the page under Rules and Mechanics

CajunNewBlue Mon Mar 28, 2011 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 744493)
HTBT....but....

This is either obstruction or interference.

A few years back, when "about to receive" was taken out of the obstruction rule for NFHS, an interpretation was made that there were no more "train wrecks", you either had obstruction or interference.

That interpretation was softened somewhat to eliminate the play where the batter bunts in front of the plate and is leaving the box to run to first, the catcher is coming out to field the ball and the players collide. As long as both players are doing what they are supposed to be doing...this is nothing. And it is specific to this play only!

Here is a link to a short article by Emily Alexander written while she was on the NFHS rules commitee:

Edification & Education ::

Scroll down the page under Rules and Mechanics

I think this has changed... and its now the opposite.... you rule interference.

CecilOne Mon Mar 28, 2011 12:42pm

OK OK OK - I missed that F1 caught the ball, not F3. :o :o :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1