The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA - No runs will score if.... (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/64991-asa-no-runs-will-score-if.html)

LIUmp Wed Mar 16, 2011 07:09am

ASA - No runs will score if....
 
ASA rules. R1 on 3rd, R2 on first. One out.

Illegal pitch is called. On the pitch, B3 hits a ground ball toward F4, when the ball hits R2 on their way to second base. All fielders were behind the runner.

What's the call here?



My take, and I am sure I've something wrong. Dead ball, R2 out for interference, B3 is awarded first base and R1 returns to 3rd. Now the coach of the offense is given the choice of taking this result, or giving a ball to the batter and R1 scores. R2 is still out.

This really stems from a test question that I had asked about last year.

"No runs can ever score after interference on a runner is declared."

I said true, but was marked wrong. So I'm trying to justify any situation where a run DOES score AFTER interference on a RUNNER has been declared. The above situation is all I can think of, but I don't know if the ruling I wrote about is even correct.

Can someone clarify? Thanks.

Tru_in_Blu Wed Mar 16, 2011 07:25am

Well I'll give it a try.

On the IP, we have a delayed DB.

Batter hits the ball, which hits the runner. This results in an immediate DB. Runner is out, runner at third is returned, batter awarded first base.

Since not every runner advanced 1 base and the batter reached first, the coach now has the option of taking the result of the play, or enforcing the penalty for the IP.

Penalty for IP is a ball to the batter, and all runners advanced 1 base.

This would likely be his/her choice in this case.

The fact that the runner was hit by the batted ball is now moot because we've enforced the IP penalty.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Mar 16, 2011 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 740390)
Well I'll give it a try.

On the IP, we have a delayed DB.

Batter hits the ball, which hits the runner. This results in an immediate DB. Runner is out, runner at third is returned, batter awarded first base.

Since not every runner advanced 1 base and the batter reached first, the coach now has the option of taking the result of the play, or enforcing the penalty for the IP.

Penalty for IP is a ball to the batter, and all runners advanced 1 base.

This would likely be his/her choice in this case.

The fact that the runner was hit by the batted ball is now moot because we've enforced the IP penalty.

Of course, you are referring to FP since in SP the IP is negated the moment the batter swings at the pitch.

Tru_in_Blu Wed Mar 16, 2011 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 740447)
Of course, you are referring to FP since in SP the IP is negated the moment the batter swings at the pitch.

Yes, of course. From the OP, this was my clue:
coach of the offense is given the choice

LIUmp Wed Mar 16, 2011 12:02pm

Yes, this is fastpitch.

So do you put the batter back up to bat and add a ball to the count and advance the runners - if the coach decides he wants that option?

Is that an option?

Is the R2 out?

Can any runs score AFTER interference on a runner has been declared?

HugoTafurst Wed Mar 16, 2011 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LIBlueASA (Post 740453)
Yes, this is fastpitch.

So do you put the batter back up to bat and add a ball to the count and advance the runners - if the coach decides he wants that option?

Is that an option?

Is the R2 out?

Can any runs score AFTER interference on a runner has been declared?

If the run scored before the interference

LIUmp Wed Mar 16, 2011 12:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 740457)
If the run scored before the interference

But what about AFTER? NY state softball organization I umpire for gives us a test every year and one of the questions last year said AFTER - and they said it can happen. I can't figure out when. Except for the case I wrote about above. So my questions really are:

Can a run score AFTER interference on a runner is declared? If so, how?

What is the correct ruling in the above play?

AtlUmpSteve Wed Mar 16, 2011 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LIBlueASA (Post 740461)
But what about AFTER? NY state softball organization I umpire for gives us a test every year and one of the questions last year said AFTER - and they said it can happen. I can't figure out when. Except for the case I wrote about above. So my questions really are:

Can a run score AFTER interference on a runner is declared? If so, how?

What is the correct ruling in the above play?

You have been given the correct ruling on the original play. The offensive coach has the option of the result of the play or to negate the entire play and receive the penalty for the illegal pitch. In "negate the play", that means the interference never happened.

Any coach, even the purest idiots, would take the IP penalty in this case; R1 scores, R2 to 3rd, B4 (has to be 4, because you had an out, right!!) returns to bat with a ball added to the count. Because the result of the play scores no runs and adds an out!!

Tru_in_Blu Wed Mar 16, 2011 12:59pm

R1 scores, R2 to 3rd, B4 (has to be 4, because you had an out, right!!)

If in the 1st inning. What if it was the 6th inning and B9 led off by making an out?

youngump Wed Mar 16, 2011 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LIBlueASA (Post 740461)
Can a run score AFTER interference on a runner is declared? If so, how?

I can't think of anything. Anybody?
________
Colorado Dispensary

Tru_in_Blu Wed Mar 16, 2011 01:20pm

Interference always trumps obstruction, right?

What if 2 different players are involved?

R1 on 2B and batter hits safely to RF. R1 obstructed between 3B & home, would have scored easily, but headed back to 3B.

Meantime, throw from F9 to F4 who is bumped by BR as she's making a throw to F2. Interference, DB, BR declared out.

Does R1 get to score? Number of outs matter?

IRISHMAFIA Wed Mar 16, 2011 06:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 740448)
Yes, of course. From the OP, this was my clue:
coach of the offense is given the choice

That was part of his take, not the scenario. AFAIC, his "take" could have been wrong, especially since it was a question.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Mar 16, 2011 06:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 740468)
You have been given the correct ruling on the original play. The offensive coach has the option of the result of the play or to negate the entire play and receive the penalty for the illegal pitch. In "negate the play", that means the interference never happened.

Any coach, even the purest idiots, would take the IP penalty in this case; R1 scores, R2 to 3rd, B4 (has to be 4, because you had an out, right!!) returns to bat with a ball added to the count. Because the result of the play scores no runs and adds an out!!

For that matter, there are many umpires who will not even give a coach the chance to screw it up and just enforce the IP unless asked otherwise.

AtlUmpSteve Wed Mar 16, 2011 10:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 740470)
R1 scores, R2 to 3rd, B4 (has to be 4, because you had an out, right!!)

If in the 1st inning. What if it was the 6th inning and B9 led off by making an out?

In the approved nomenclature for writing a case play, B9 is the 9th batter in the current inning; it has nothing to do with the lineup. In the 6th, B1 leads off; just like B1 leads off in every inning.

Tru_in_Blu Thu Mar 17, 2011 06:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 740609)
In the approved nomenclature for writing a case play, B9 is the 9th batter in the current inning; it has nothing to do with the lineup. In the 6th, B1 leads off; just like B1 leads off in every inning.

Well, I've learned something again. Thanx.

txump81 Thu Mar 17, 2011 07:37am

Along the IP lines
 
What is the correct way to handle this?

R1 (on 1b-I hate having to clarify this). BU calls an IP and batter gets a strike. Time is called. HC is in the 3rd base coaches box. Do you wait for BU to come all the way from B to talk to the coach, or do you go to HC as PU and just tell him/her there was an IP, what do you want? Just curious from a game(time) management/don't want to step on partner's toes angle.

HugoTafurst Thu Mar 17, 2011 07:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by txump81 (Post 740662)
What is the correct way to handle this?

R1 (on 1b-I hate having to clarify this). BU calls an IP and batter gets a strike. Time is called. HC is in the 3rd base coaches box. Do you wait for BU to come all the way from B to talk to the coach, or do you go to HC as PU and just tell him/her there was an IP, what do you want? Just curious from a game(time) management/don't want to step on partner's toes angle.

What is there to talk about?
IP -
After the Strike, if PU hasn't seen your indication, call time, signal and say Illegal pitch and send runner to 2nd.
:)

LIUmp Thu Mar 17, 2011 11:17am

Suffolk Board of Softball Officials Association - (Brightwaters, NY) - powered by LeagueLineup.com

look under "2010 test most missed". It is question number 36.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1