The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Blocked Ball - Defense Question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/61564-blocked-ball-defense-question.html)

Texasbock Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:16pm

Blocked Ball - Defense Question
 
Speaking NFHS.

It is my understanding that if a live ball comes in contact with a piece of equipment (bucket,helmet,etc.) in the field of play that belongs to the defensive team, the ball is dead, and the runners are allowed one base. If the equipment belongs to the offense, the runner closes to home is out. And, all other runners return to the last base touched. Either scenario, the ball is dead. Is that correct?

If that is correct, is this true for ASA as well?

RKBUmp Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:40pm

In FED and offensive equipment blocks a ball, if a runner is being played on, that runner is out, all other runners return to base at the time of blocked ball. If no play is obvious, there is no out, all runners return to last base occupied at time of blocked ball. 8-6-15

If defensive equipment causes a blocked ball, all runners awarded 2 bases from time ball left fielders hand. 8-4-3f

ASA appears to follow same rule. ASA 8-5-G

NCASAUmp Tue Feb 01, 2011 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 724747)
In FED and offensive equipment blocks a ball, if a runner is being played on, that runner is out, all other runners return to base at the time of blocked ball. If no play is obvious, there is no out, all runners return to last base occupied at time of blocked ball. 8-6-15

If defensive equipment causes a blocked ball, all runners awarded 2 bases from time ball left fielders hand. 8-4-3f

ASA appears to follow same rule. ASA 8-5-G

Motion seconded for ASA.

Texasbock Tue Feb 01, 2011 01:47pm

So the ball is dead in both instances? Correct? And, thanks for the rule references.

CecilOne Tue Feb 01, 2011 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texasbock (Post 724794)
So the ball is dead in both instances? Correct? And, thanks for the rule references.

Yes, dead.
If defensive equip, it's like any ball going "out of play".


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1