The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Softball question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/60815-softball-question.html)

greg21001 Thu Jan 20, 2011 09:28am

Softball question
 
Hi all, First post. I have been reading the forum every now and then for a few months now. I am hoping you can help my DD out. Her coach gave her a quiz and some of the question are vague in my opinion. I would like to know how you would answer them.

1. Using a double first base, the batter touches only the white portion of the base and is tagged out by the defense. Is she safe or out.

2.The base runner remains on her feet and deliberately crashes into the defensive player with the ball, or about to catch the ball. Is the runner safe or out?

3. The pitcher has the ball in the circle. The batter runs to 1B and continues to 2B without. The runner at 3B is off base watching. Since the batter never stopped, is the runner at 3B out?

And This question I just don't know the answe too at all.

Which of the following is true about an appeal play:
A-can be made with a live or dead ball.
B-must be made before the next pitch.
C-Umpire cannot rule until requested.
D- All the above.

thanks

Andy Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by greg21001 (Post 719461)
Hi all, First post. I have been reading the forum every now and then for a few months now. I am hoping you can help my DD out. Her coach gave her a quiz and some of the question are vague in my opinion. I would like to know how you would answer them.

1. Using a double first base, the batter touches only the white portion of the base and is tagged out by the defense. Is she safe or out.

ASA, NFHS rules: Assuming a play at first and not a base hit, if the runner touched the white portion of the double base before the defense touched first, she is safe, subject to appeal. The tag could be considered an appeal if the defense lets the umpire know that they are tagging the runner because she touched the white portion of the double bag.

Quote:

Originally Posted by greg21001 (Post 719461)
2.The base runner remains on her feet and deliberately crashes into the defensive player with the ball, or about to catch the ball. Is the runner safe or out?

ASA, NFHS rules: This is malicious contact and the runner will be ejected. I will let others comment on the safe or out portion

Quote:

Originally Posted by greg21001 (Post 719461)
3. The pitcher has the ball in the circle. The batter runs to 1B and continues to 2B without. The runner at 3B is off base watching. Since the batter never stopped, is the runner at 3B out?

ASA, NFHS rules: Assuming that the batter has earned a walk, the now batter-runner is fine in continuing to second base. However, once the BR reached first base, and the pitcher has the ball in the circle and is not making a play on either runner, the runner that is off of third must committ to going one way or another. If that runner continued to stand still, she would be declared out and the BR returned to first base.

Quote:

Originally Posted by greg21001 (Post 719461)
And This question I just don't know the answe too at all.

Which of the following is true about an appeal play:
A-can be made with a live or dead ball.
B-must be made before the next pitch.
C-Umpire cannot rule until requested.
D- All the above.

thanks

ASA, NFHS rules: B and C are true

CecilOne Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 719472)
ASA, NFHS rules: Assuming a play at first and not a base hit, if the runner touched the white portion of the double base before the defense touched first, she is safe, subject to appeal. The tag could be considered an appeal if the defense lets the umpire know that they are tagging the runner because she touched the white portion of the double bag.



ASA, NFHS rules: This is malicious contact and the runner will be ejected. I will let others comment on the safe or out portion



ASA, NFHS rules: Assuming that the batter has earned a walk, the now batter-runner is fine in continuing to second base. However, once the BR reached first base, and the pitcher has the ball in the circle and is not making a play on either runner, the runner that is off of third must committ to going one way or another. If that runner continued to stand still, she would be declared out and the BR returned to first base.



ASA, NFHS rules: B and C are true

The last one is all of the above, live ball appeal in first answer.

Runner crashing into a fielder with the ball is either a tag out or interference,
then the malicious or not is handled.

Andy Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 719486)
The last one is all of the above, live ball appeal in first answer.

The play cited in Q1 can only be made as a live ball appeal.

That is why I excluded that option in my answer.....and yes, I agree with the OP that the questions are a bit vague.....

greg21001 Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:29am

Can someone explain the difference between a live ball and dead ball appeal?

IRISHMAFIA Thu Jan 20, 2011 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by greg21001 (Post 719503)
Can someone explain the difference between a live ball and dead ball appeal?

A live ball appeal occurs while the ball is live. The dead ball appeal occurs after play has been suspended by the umpire or the ball is dead.

BTW, "about to receive" is only applicable in games played under NCAA rules.

JefferMC Thu Jan 20, 2011 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 719534)
BTW, "about to receive" is only applicable in games played under NCAA rules.

However, it used to appear in most other codes 8 (or so) years ago. This is probably a really old test. :)

txtrooper Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:56pm

Sounds like the ASA Exam.

DeputyUICHousto Sat Jan 22, 2011 08:21am

An example of a live ball appeal...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by greg21001 (Post 719503)
Can someone explain the difference between a live ball and dead ball appeal?

Runner on 1st with one out. Line drive hit to 2nd baseman. Runner is off on contact. 2nd baseman throws over to first. This is a live ball appeal.

Skahtboi Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DeputyUICHousto (Post 720320)
Runner on 1st with one out. Line drive hit to 2nd baseman. Runner is off on contact. 2nd baseman throws over to first. This is a live ball appeal.


And to further clarify, it is a live ball appeal of the runner leaving the base before the first touch of a ball caught for an out.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 721038)
And to further clarify, it is a live ball appeal of the runner leaving the base before the first touch of a ball caught for an out.

Ahhh, not always.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1