![]() |
Is this correct
Who has responsibility to avoid contact?
R1 on 1st. F3 &/or F4 lined up on the straight line path between 1st & 2nd. R1 attempts to steal... (batter doesn't swing. I know things change if a ball is hit to F3/F4). a) R1 takes the direct line toward 2nd base and makes contact with F3 or F4. b) R1 takes an indirect route (running behind F3/F4) to 2nd. I've heard coaches teach baserunners to at least bump the fielders in order to draw an obstruction call. I've heard coaches teach fielders to make sure they stand in the baseline in order to make the runners take a (slightly) longer path between bases. What I've learned is a) is obstruction, b) is nothing. I have a problem telling girls to intentionally make contact with a member of the other team, but at the same time I have a problem teaching fielders to intentionally line up in the baseline. What do the rules support? |
Quote:
If the runner is running to second and at the last second veers into the defender who isn't in the base path and draws contact that's not obstruction. ________ ANGELINALOVE |
So you don't have to have contact for obstruction?
ASSUMING... R1 on 1st stealing... F3 is in the direct line path so R1 runs behind her. Ball just barely beats R1 to 2nd, F4 catches & tags R1. BU calls 'Out'. Can offensive coach call time and appeal based on R1 having to run around F3? Let me rephrase... would an appeal be upheld? :D I'm assuming BU takes into consideration whether R1 would be safe if there is no obstruction (ie: slow runner stealing 2nd, runs around F3, and gets beaten by 2 steps). Would that be correct? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
As to your scenario if called correctly, the BU **at the time of the obstruction** determines which base he believes the runner would have achieved if not obstructed and then protects accordingly. ________ Avandia settlement info |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Whether the runner would be safe or out is only taken into consideration for determining how far to protect the runner and, after the play is over, where to place the runner. |
Thanks all!
|
As usual, this has become convoluted.
It is real simple. If the defender is not fielding a batted ball, s/he cannot impede the runner. Stop trying to overthink it. It doesn't make any difference where the player was standing or if there was contact or not. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Training is one thing, but at some point any individual umpire should be reading the rulebook on his own. And it says right there in the definition for obstruction that "contact is not necessary". |
Quote:
When I coached (many years ago), I had my girls yell, "MOVE!" if the fielder obstructed them between bases (or rounding first). Many times the loud yell would soon be followed by an OBS call from the BU. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47am. |