![]() |
Game ending play
The six run league rule thread got me thinking about something I'm not quite sure I know the right answer to.
No outs, bottom nine tie game bases loaded. Sac fly scores the winning run but the runner left early. The entire team mobs the guy who hit the sac fly at the plate. Defense wants to appeal leaving early. We now have two outs and the runners from 1st and 2nd standing around home plate. Is the ball dead? If so by what rule? If it's live, could the defense play on the runners before making the appeal? Common sense says call time and put everyone back on base but does the rule book support that? ________ Water Bong |
Quote:
|
In other words, just because there are a lot of extra people on the field and people who should be doing one thing are doing another, all rules still apply. It depends on how they make the appeal.
|
Ball isn't dead until it's made dead for some reason. Game apparently ending is not one of those reasons.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08am. |