![]() |
My screwup...
Fall ball rec FP league game, ASA rules, I am a solo umpire.
Bases loaded, 1 out, x-2 count on the batter. Team A batter swings and misses for strike three, F2 drops the ball. F2 picks up the ball while standing on the plate, I yell "OUT" for a force on the runner from third, see the former batter entering the dugout and declare her out as well for entering dead ball territory. 3 outs, inning over. Teams change sides and begin warming up for the next half-inning. Team A coach walks over to me with a puzzled look on his face, so I explain the call to him....A parent sitting in the stands behind me says something like, "isn't that only with two outs?" and my brain now goes, ohhhh, $hit..... I call both coaches out, apologize, and explain my major brain fart. I send team B back on the field and the three team A runners back to the bases. Two outs, game continues. next batter hits a double to score three runs.... Both coaches were cool and agreed with my resolution. Could have been much worse.... |
Related to the other thread, I agree with your ruling. Not an appeal, so teams leaving the field doesn't apply. No next pitch has been thrown; you correct the situation, and continue.
Stuff happens. You did everything right you could after it happened. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06am. |