![]() |
delaying the game?
NFHS game. Nobody on base. Count was 3-1 but batter and catcher think it is 2-2. Pitch comes in for a strike. Catcher throws around the horn. Batter starts to walk off like she struck out. Offensive coach wants delay of game and ball 4 on his batter. It was late in the game and a 1-0 score, not that this should have any bearing on the ruling. What do you rule. I was an observer not an umpire on this play. Dave
|
if coach call you on it you dont have much choice - ball 4
good reason to always give the count when you hit ball 3 or strike 2 |
But, should the coach have to call you on it for you to enforce it? Dave
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
If I remember correctly it was a little below the knees. I have definitely seen this pitch called both ways. PU called it a ball but both batter and catcher believed it was a strike. Dave
|
Reading the description of the sitch in the OP, I'm assuming that the pitch for what was strike two was a called strike?
If so, wouldn't there be a slightly decernible difference in the PU's voice and mechanics on a called strike three vs. a called strike two? I would think that he'd have a little more "sell" on a called strike three that would kind of make at at least the batter and catcher aware that there's an out as opposed to how he'd communicate verbally and visually on a called strike one or two. |
Quote:
Now you're saying "PU called it a ball." My question, was the correct count now 3-2, or ball four? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Mike, you have the description absolutely right. When it was 2-1 and the pitch came in, that is when both the batter and catcher didn't know what it was. They did know that the next pitch was called a strike. Dave
|
Quote:
no |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34pm. |