![]() |
Interference?
I am new, and I read the rule book for the first time last week. So, forgive the rookie question.
Men's slow pitch with USSSA rules. R1 is on first, and F3 is playing about 10 feet off the base and five feet behind the baseline. Batter hits a hot grounder right at F3. R1 runs on contact, and crosses in front of F3 about the same time as the ball. R1 manages to avoid the ball and F3, but F3's vision is obscured and the ball ends up in right field. With no contact and no intent, but clearly an effect on F3's ability to field the ball, is this interference? If R1 had held up or run behind F3, F3 would have had an easy play at second and maybe a double play. Thanks in advance! |
Runners cross lines of sight all the time. I have nothing. If the runner had stopped in the path and then continued, OUT. Just crossing in front of a fielder, nothing.
|
Oops, I called interference, since F3 had no real chance to field it. Rookie error.
Thanks for the response! |
Welcome to the forum! Stick around and learn a lot. (These guys are good!)
|
Quote:
Learn from the errors. Don't get down on yourself about them...but ask the questions you need to ask to learn and improve. It's a long process, but approach it with the right attitude and you'll find yourself getting better game after game and season after season. We've all been through it. Welcome to umpiring and to the forum. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04am. |