![]() |
Is this a foul tip or a foul ball.
0-2 Count pitched ball hits in from of the plate, batter swings and ball goes directly from the bat the catcher’s mitt, where it is caught. The question is this a D3K, or a foul tip, or both, or a foul ball? Can the batter advance because of the D3K? Can runners advance because of the foul tip?
Thanks Bugg |
It is not a D3K since the bat contacted the ball. This is a foul tip, batter out, live ball.
|
Quote:
________ Prilosec settlement info |
This is a play that was debated for ages in baseball, to the point that one of the pro schools was teaching that this could not be foul tip, the other teaching that it was.
A few years back they came to an agreement. About the same time, ASA issued a rule clarification for this very play. Once the ball contacts the bat, treat it exactly as any other batted ball. This would be a foul tip. |
Great question, but in the end, I'm surprised there was much of a debate.
It has to be a foul tip. If the contact with the ground (prior to the bat) meant anything, what would you do with a pitch that bounces and is then hit as a fly ball to any other fielder. |
Good job, all. :cool:
|
Go to Cactus Umpires
Cactus Umpires: NFHS Foul Tip |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12am. |