The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 03, 2002, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
In game in which home runs don't have to be run out, POE #24 says, "When a home run is hit out of the ball park, the batter and all base runners can go directly to the dugout. No appeals can be made for runners missing a base."

I've done some tournaments in which players think that the batter has to touch 1B. However, I've always told them they don't have to, and everyone seems to like that.

But can a runner who misses a base while the ball is still in the air be called out on appeal? Should a runner who passes another runner before the ball becomes a home run be called out?

Ordinarily, I would think the answer would be no, but one of those guys whose picture is in the ASA case book told me, as least with regard to passing a runner, it would be an out because the ball is still live until it hits over the fence.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1