The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Sanity Check (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/58582-sanity-check.html)

HugoTafurst Fri Jul 09, 2010 07:50pm

Sanity Check
 
USSSA
R1 stealing second, gets in a run down, after a few back and forth runs and throws, R1 heading to 1st as the ball is thrown out of play.
DEAD BALL, I send the runner to 3rd.

Coach questions award, I tell him the award is proper.
Game continues.

After the game is over, UIC and every other umpire upstairs claims I blew it.
They say it isthe base she is going to, plus one (I think OMG am I dreaming).
I look in the book and find the ruling that says, (Rule 8 Sec. 14 C 3) two base award.
Room now claims it is 2 bases - the base going to is one and then another!

Is there a rule some where that has the 1 + 1 wording?
Thanks

Stu Clary Fri Jul 09, 2010 09:04pm

"The one she is going to, + one"? Award her home in your sitch! Hahahaha! Does she have to bat again?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Jul 09, 2010 10:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stu Clary (Post 684966)
"The one she is going to, + one"? Award her home in your sitch! Hahahaha! Does she have to bat again?


Stu:

Hugo was asking a legitimate question and was looking for an intelligent discussion of the situation. Your comments was not appropriate.

MTD, Sr.

Stu Clary Fri Jul 09, 2010 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 684967)
Stu:

Hugo was asking a legitimate question and was looking for an intelligent discussion of the situation. Your comments was not appropriate.

MTD, Sr.

Mark:

Hugo has a pretty good grasp of the situation. YOUR comment, being off-topic as well as condesending, is the one that is inappropriate.

GFY,

Stu Clary

BretMan Fri Jul 09, 2010 11:37pm

USSSA does have a rule something like this, but not for this situation. And it only applies in slow pitch!

Under their slow pitch rules, when a runner leaves early on a caught fly ball that is thrown out of play before the runner retouches, it's a two-base award with the base left early counting as the first base of the award. So, if the runner was left early from first, and was between first and second when the throw was made, she gets second base.

It sounds like the U-Trip "experts" you talked to are confusing that rule with the wrong situation- and the wrong version of the sport!

Dutch Alex Sat Jul 10, 2010 02:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 684963)
USSSA
R1 stealing second, gets in a run down, after a few back and forth runs and throws, R1 heading to 1st as the ball is thrown out of play.
DEAD BALL, I send the runner to 3rd.

Coach questions award, I tell him the award is proper.
Game continues.

After the game is over, UIC and every other umpire upstairs claims I blew it.
They say it isthe base she is going to, plus one (I think OMG am I dreaming).
I look in the book and find the ruling that says, (Rule 8 Sec. 14 C 3) two base award.
Room now claims it is 2 bases - the base going to is one and then another!

Is there a rule some where that has the 1 + 1 wording?
Thanks

Hugo,

Since we have no USSSSSSSSSSA (how many S'es?) overhere, I first have a question: How different can this game be from ASA, ISF/ESF?
So ask yourself: "What base already was in legally possion of R1?" (I think 1st). Add the 2 bases-award to it and we have 3rd.
Then ask yourself: "Who blew the call?"
IMHO R1 is retreating to 1st base only because she don't want get cought, not by rule (leaving to soon or missed base), so having the nose pointed towards 1st ain't means she's not on her way towards 2nd base..

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Jul 10, 2010 06:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stu Clary (Post 684968)
Mark:

Hugo has a pretty good grasp of the situation. YOUR comment, being off-topic as well as condesending, is the one that is inappropriate.

GFY,

Stu Clary



Stu:

Read the last sentence of Hugos' OP. It is a question and it is a legitmage question that he posted to the forum to gain more information.

MTD, Sr.

CecilOne Sat Jul 10, 2010 10:28am

1) Base running awards are according to the runner's POSITION at the time of the throw, DIRECTION is IRRELEVANT.

2) Bickering is not productive.

3) Well, Alex, you already mentioned ASA/ISF/ESF which have some differences. The several rule books American umpires are stuck with have even more differences, could very well vary on this play.

4) Hugo seems sane.

Dutch Alex Sat Jul 10, 2010 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 684987)
...4) Hugo seems sane.

I was thinking the same. But I'm only acting that I'm sane;)
(see below and translate it from dutch...)

TwoBits Mon Jul 12, 2010 09:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dutch Alex (Post 684978)
Hugo,

Since we have no USSSSSSSSSSA (how many S'es?) overhere, I first have a question: How different can this game be from ASA, ISF/ESF?

USSSA softball rules most closely resemble NFHS.

HugoTafurst Mon Jul 12, 2010 11:40am

:D
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dutch Alex (Post 684994)
(see below and translate it from dutch...)


BING Translator:
"I am not kidding, do as if only! However, is well off "

Worldling.com:
"I am not kid thing, do ash if only! However, are well off "

Oh well - I think I get the message.....:D;)

HugoTafurst Mon Jul 12, 2010 11:47am

Thanks
 
Thanks for the Sanity Check -

Just finished 3 days in the heat and humidity of South Florida.
When I recoverand catch up at work, I may post to the "Things Heatin up" thread.:D

I'm sure you've all been in those situations.
I was the "outsider" so what do I know.
I know next to nothing about slow pitch rules, but it's nice to know the phrase may have come from somewhere.

I'll probably spend this next week looking for that wording.


Mark, thanks for looking out for me, but I think I got the humor of Stu's comment (I'm a wisea$$ myself sometimes).

Dakota Mon Jul 12, 2010 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 685113)
:D


BING Translator:
"I am not kidding, do as if only! However, is well off "

Worldling.com:
"I am not kid thing, do ash if only! However, are well off "

Oh well - I think I get the message.....:D;)

Babel Fish translation:
"I am not crazy, only do as if! Does me nevertheless descend good?"

I suspect we're trying to translate an idiom, so the direct translation does not convey the meaning, exactly.

MD Longhorn Mon Jul 12, 2010 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 685137)
Babel Fish translation:
"I am not crazy, only do as if! Does me nevertheless descend good?"

Close ... Isn't it "I am not crazed, only do as if! Does descent good me nevertheless. Don't forget your towel."

BretMan Mon Jul 12, 2010 10:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 685115)
I know next to nothing about slow pitch rules, but it's nice to know the phrase may have come from somewhere.

I'll probably spend this next week looking for that wording.

I'll save you some time! :)

See USSSA rule 8-9-D in the...slooooooow pitch rule book.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1