![]() |
|
|||
Situation:
16U, ASA rules. Batter is hit on the leg by a moderate fast ball - not a screamer, but still a fast ball. She makes no attempt at any motion - doesn't turn, doesn't flinch, doesn't back up, nothin'... (This kid had already hit a fast ball from this same pitcher 200+ feet into left field - so reaction time is not her problem.) I call "dead ball," batter drops bat and starts trotting to 1st. I call her back - "dead ball, ball three, batter made no attempt to avoid the pitch." Coach goes ballistic - see my other post on "should I have ejected." My question, here, is not a rules question, but a judgment question. I know, by rule, my call was correct. My second guessing was because it was a fast ball pitch. What do you think? Have you ever ruled the batter made no attempt to avoid on a (moderate) fast ball? 16U.
__________________
Tom |
Bookmarks |
|
|