The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Two Scenarios (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/58170-two-scenarios.html)

TheWahls7 Fri May 21, 2010 01:09am

Two Scenarios
 
I'm new to ASA. I saw both of these. By ASA fast pitch rules, I have two scenarios:

First
B1 lunges for outside pitch, but obviously does not swing. Plate umpire calls it as a called third strike. F1 drops the pitch. B1 immediately runs to first safely with no throw from the catcher. Is the batter out?

Second:
B1 swings at a pitch and it hits B1. R1 is on first and runs to second (as if hit and run is on). F2 throws to second, and F6 tags R1 before touches second. What is the call?

AtlUmpSteve Fri May 21, 2010 01:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheWahls7 (Post 677810)
I'm new to ASA. I saw both of these. By ASA fast pitch rules, I have two scenarios:

First
B1 lunges for outside pitch, but obviously does not swing. Plate umpire calls it as a called third strike. F1 drops the pitch. B1 immediately runs to first safely with no throw from the catcher. Is the batter out?

Second:
B1 swings at a pitch and it hits B1. R1 is on first and runs to second (as if hit and run is on). F2 throws to second, and F6 tags R1 before touches second. What is the call?

First:
You didn't tell us if 1st base occupied, or how many outs. Once called a swing by PU, it is strike 3, and uncaught. Can't be undone once called strike 3, so the result of the play, if uncaught strike 3 applies, is the result.

Second:
There is no call to make. When batter is hit by pitch, the ball is dead, and no runner can advance. Batter swung, so strike ?? If it happened with 2 strikes, this is strike 3, and batter is out. R1 returns to first, cannot advance on a dead ball.

milank Fri May 21, 2010 08:42am

For scenario 2, I just want to make sure I have this correct.

The runner is going on the pitch. The batter swings at the pitch. The pitch hits the batter. The catcher picks up the ball and still gets R2?

I would want to call out the runner for being so slow. :)

However, once the bal hits the batter it is dead. so we have a strike and a dead ball. There in no out (unless it was strike 3) and the runner returns to 1B

argodad Fri May 21, 2010 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheWahls7 (Post 677810)
First
B1 lunges for outside pitch, but obviously does not swing. Plate umpire calls it as a called third strike. F1 drops the pitch. B1 immediately runs to first safely with no throw from the catcher. Is the batter out?

Whether the PU ruled strike three on the swing, or on a called strike, if F2 dropped it and the BR reached 1B safely, she is not out. Exception: 1B occupied at the TOP with less than 2 outs.

Quote:

Second:
B1 swings at a pitch and it hits B1.
DEAD BALL!
Quote:

R1 is on first and runs to second (as if hit and run is on). F2 throws to second, and F6 tags R1 before touches second. What is the call?
Ball is dead and it is a strike on B1. R1 is returned to 1B.

Andy Fri May 21, 2010 11:37am

Oh...and welcome to the board!

Please feel free to bring any questions you have here...we are (usually) nice and will give honest and straightforward answers.

And you may even decide to try some new beers!:cool:

TheWahls7 Fri May 21, 2010 11:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 677813)
First:
You didn't tell us if 1st base occupied, or how many outs. Once called a swing by PU, it is strike 3, and uncaught. Can't be undone once called strike 3, so the result of the play, if uncaught strike 3 applies, is the result.

Runner on first, two outs. The official did not rule a swing either. I probably should have left that part out since it is irrelevant.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 677881)
Oh...and welcome to the board!

Please feel free to bring any questions you have here...we are (usually) nice and will give honest and straightforward answers.

And you may even decide to try some new beers!:cool:

Thanks!

Question - So it does not matter if the batter swings or not for the dropped third strike rule to apply? I know during my high school baseball days you could not advance if you did not "offer" at the pitch.

Rich Ives Fri May 21, 2010 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheWahls7 (Post 677885)
Question - So it does not matter if the batter swings or not for the dropped third strike rule to apply? I know during my high school baseball days you could not advance if you did not "offer" at the pitch.

Doesn't matter. Didn't matter when you were in HS.

Either your memory is fuzzy or your umpires were fuzzy.

MD Longhorn Fri May 21, 2010 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheWahls7 (Post 677885)
Runner on first, two outs. The official did not rule a swing either. I probably should have left that part out since it is irrelevant.

Huh? What is an "official"? You said the umpire called it strike 3 - that is all that matters... who is this "official" to whom you refer?


Quote:

Originally Posted by TheWahls7 (Post 677885)
Question - So it does not matter if the batter swings or not for the dropped third strike rule to apply? I know during my high school baseball days you could not advance if you did not "offer" at the pitch.

You know wrong. What you describe was never the rule, in baseball or softball.

And PS - it was corrected above but not pointed out... F1 is the pitcher. F2 is the catcher.

CecilOne Fri May 21, 2010 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 677881)
And you may even decide to try some new beers!:cool:

Come on Andy, only post #5. Isn't the minimum for beer page 2?

NCASAUmp Fri May 21, 2010 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 677915)
Come on Andy, only post #5. Isn't the minimum for beer page 2?

It's Friday. Beer should be post #1.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1