![]() |
ASA Slow Pitch Foul Tip
I play Senior Slow Pitch and on a foul tip where the ball does not go over the batters head and is caught by the catcher the batter is out.
Last night, while umpiring a men's (not Senior) slow pitch game the same situation occured and I called the batter out. It was appealed, saying that the ball must go over the batter head for it to be an out. I consulted my fellow umpire, who has been working these slow pitch leagues for quite awhile and he said that, yes, it does need to go over the batters head. I can't find any reference to this in the ASA rule book except to say that a foul tip is a strike and not an out (except on the third strike). A foul tip is a ball the goes "sharply and directly from the bat into the catcher's glove". In slow pitch I would be hard pressed to say any ball goes "sharply and directly". Is there such a rule as "it has to go over the batter's head? |
Quote:
It is entirely possible, but not nearly as likely, to have a foul tip in SP. I call only SP, and I've had maybe 3 actual, honest-to-goodness foul-tips since they changed the rule. |
They deleted "not higher than the batter's head" because it was misleading and confusing. The batter's head was actually never the defining criterion. The wording was intended to indicate that if the ball rises over the batter's head, it can't be a foul tip, but it led people to believe that (1) if it didn't rise over the batter's head and F2 caught it, it had to be a foul tip, even though a case play contradicted that notion, and (2) if F2 did catch it over the batter's head, it could not be a foul tip, which is not true. (A batter could swing and nick a pitch over his head, and the ball could go sharp and direct into F2's outstretched glove—an obvious foul tip but still over the batter's head.)
|
So, you're saying that the rule, "above the head" was taken out of the rule book in 2006 and that, unless it comes sharply and directly off the bat it would be considered a catch and, therefore, an out.
|
Quote:
If it goes sharply and directly to the catcher's face, bounces off their forehead and is caught before touching the ground, it's an out, as the ball did not go sharply and directly to the glove or hand. |
Quote:
________ How To Roll A Blunt |
Quote:
I've got a caught fly ball for an out. |
Quote:
What's the ASA rules say? (FYI the baseball rules say it's not a catch if it's a rebound.) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
________ new condos in Pattaya |
Quote:
|
This is heading down a path Bretman and I encountered on another board.
ASA refers to "sharply and directly" on when addressing a foul tip. ASA only refers to "directly" when addressing a foul ball which first touches a part of the catcher or equipment other than the hand(s) or glove. By the way the rule presently reads, the only time this happens and it is a foul ball is when a fielder other than the catcher catches the ball in flight off the catcher. The discussion is if it is to be called as youngump notes, why would ASA include "another fielder" in the rule declaring the ball foul (Rule 1 - Definitions Foul Ball)? |
Quote:
And NFHS has a statement to fix this so in NFHS both variants foul ball. ________ Vaporizer Video Review |
Quote:
|
Quote:
________ Og Kush Seeds |
I'm confused. Is anybody actually contending that in ASA a nicked pitch, not perceptibly deflected, that bounces off the catcher's mask and then falls into his glove is an out?
|
Quote:
|
Hmmm, Mike. This conversation sounds familiar... :rolleyes:
|
Quote:
________ LIVE SEX |
I found this in the 2008 book...sorry for not posting from a current version but this is the latest I have.
RS 22 Foul Ball / Foul Tip: "...The defintion of a foul ball has not changed. However, a foul tip is now defined as a batted ball that goes sharply and directly from the bat to the catcher's glove / mitt or hand and is legally caught by the catcher. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball remains live in Fast Pitch and Slow Pitch with stealing. It is not a catch if the ball rebounds off the catcher, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove / mitt or hand. Again only a foul tip can be caught by the catcher." Looking at the bolded sentence above, it seems to me that a ball hit sharply and directly back that does not first hit a catcher's glove or hand is a foul ball. |
Quote:
Everyone on this thread are going to pick apart the rules and RS to justify the call that is made. There is no way around it that there is no rule as presently written that supports a simple foul ball call. I understand it is called a foul ball, but as Bretman will tell you ;), I'm just reading the rules. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05pm. |