The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 25, 2010, 11:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 257
Auburn vs Ole Miss Int or Obs.

Did any one see the collision of R1 going from 1st to 2nd.

R1 on 1st, B2 hits a shot right at F4, F3 playing up and fields the ball. Before F3 fields the ball F4 (playing behind the base line) is coming in to field the ball and R1 crashes into her. 1U singles obstruction, R1 then staggers towards the top of the circle and goes down. 1U calls dead ball and awards R1 2nd and B2 1st.

I do not umpire NCAA therefore I am thinking through this play using ASA Rules. If this was an 18G ASA game I think 1U botched the call because when the collision occurred F3 had not yet fielded the ball and F4 was "...attempting to field a batted fair ball." (8-7-j-1 and RS33). Dead Ball R1 out for interference B2 placed on 1st.

Now had F3 fielded the ball before the collision then I think you have obstruction because F4 could not field a ball that has already been fielded.

Any thoughts (Try using ASA rule set)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tenn/Auburn Adam Basketball 2 Sat Mar 14, 2009 03:54pm
LSU/Auburn DesertZebra Football 4 Sun Sep 21, 2008 02:02pm
Auburn-LSU PI non-call voiceoflg Football 32 Wed Jul 09, 2008 06:34am
Nebraska vs. Auburn shave-tail Football 2 Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:44am
Auburn/Florida Game GoodwillRef Football 20 Wed Oct 18, 2006 02:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1