The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Coaches... always thinking... (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/57721-coaches-always-thinking.html)

Dakota Sun Mar 28, 2010 08:05pm

Coaches... always thinking...
 
This situation is copied from the NFHS board. It would appear a coach has come up with a "play" that avoids the batter changing batter's boxes during the pitch rule...

NFHS Rules:
Quote:

Here's the situation:
Runner on 3B, 1 Out, RH Batter up. After the pitcher began her motion, the batter left the batter's box, crossed in front of the plate and went in front of the LH Batter's Box. She did not step into the LH Batter's Box. She did this (in the opinion of all of those who saw the play) to distract the catcher. After she passed in front of the plate, the pitch went behind her and through the strike zone. Because she had blocked the catcher's view of the pitch, the catcher did not catch the ball, the ball went back to the screen, and the runner, who had not started toward home until the ball passed the catcher, scored on the passed ball.
Comments? Call?

Little Jimmy Sun Mar 28, 2010 08:31pm

I think you could make a case for Fed 7-4-3, but certainly7-4-4 seems to apply. Penalty: The batter is out. The ball is dead immediately.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Mar 28, 2010 08:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Little Jimmy (Post 671196)
I think you could make a case for Fed 7-4-3, but certainly7-4-4 seems to apply. Penalty: The batter is out. The ball is dead immediately.

7.4.3 is specifically not applicable since that is the point of the coach's "play". However, I certainly agree that we could sell 7.4.4

Tru_in_Blu Sun Mar 28, 2010 08:47pm

7.4.4 The batter interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by leaning over home plate, ... after the pitch reaches the catcher...

My question here would be, is the catcher, while in position to receive a pitch actively "fielding or throwing"?

I don't think there's any question that the catcher was interfered with, but which rule is violated.

I think arguments could be made AGAINST both 7.4.3 and 7.4.4.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Mar 28, 2010 08:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 671201)
7.4.4 The batter interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by leaning over home plate, ... after the pitch reaches the catcher...

My question here would be, is the catcher, while in position to receive a pitch actively "fielding or throwing"?

I don't think there's any question that the catcher was interfered with, but which rule is violated.

I think arguments could be made AGAINST both 7.4.3 and 7.4.4.

Hey, I said I could sell it. Doesn't mean it is correct :rolleyes:

IRISHMAFIA Sun Mar 28, 2010 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 671202)
Hey, I said I could sell it. Doesn't mean it is correct :rolleyes:

Oh, did I forget to mention my conversation with the coach mentioning 4.3.E? :D

Tru_in_Blu Sun Mar 28, 2010 09:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 671205)
Oh, did I forget to mention my conversation with the coach mentioning 4.3.E? :D

I guess that works if'n you've been successful at selling 7.4.4. So if you're someone who can sell ice to an Eskimo, you've got it knocked!

Tru_in_Blu Sun Mar 28, 2010 09:20pm

ASA is a little clearer on this subject: 7.6.P

When hindering the catcher from catching or throwing the ball by stepping out of the batter's box.

KJUmp Mon Mar 29, 2010 09:44am

NCAA- Batter is out. (11.22.2)
.....includes the words catching or throwing the ball.....

KJUmp Mon Mar 29, 2010 09:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 671201)
7.4.4 The batter interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by leaning over home plate, ... after the pitch reaches the catcher...

My question here would be, is the catcher, while in position to receive a pitch actively "fielding or throwing"?

I don't think there's any question that the catcher was interfered with, but which rule is violated.

I think arguments could be made AGAINST both 7.4.3 and 7.4.4.

Yeah.....perhaps, but you are going to make an Out call here aren't you?

HugoTafurst Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:04am

7-4-3: All the way.

The batter was stepping TO the other box.
Maybe she didn't get there, but that's where she was stepping to.

( I was going to suggest that on the other board, but never did hit submit......)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1