The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Rulings For NFHS (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/57631-rulings-nfhs.html)

whiskers_ump Sat Mar 20, 2010 05:44pm

Rulings For NFHS
 
1st debate.

High School ball. NFHS

Got into a nice little debate this evening with a fellow softball UMPIRE. Here's the question. A ball is hit and recochets off the pitchers glove toward short stop. The short stop comes up to make a play on the ball and is hit by the runner moving from 2nd to 3rd.

Is this interference.

I say yes, clear cut. He says it is OBS cause SS does not have the ball. He also said the 1 step and reach comes into play...HUH?

2nd debate.

Again NHFS

R1 on 1B, 1 out. 3-2 count on batter, shes swings at next pitch misses, F2 catches the ball on the bounce, BR takes off to 1B, running in runners lande all the way, F2 throws to 1B hitting BR in back. What have you got?

IRISHMAFIA Sat Mar 20, 2010 06:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by whiskers_ump (Post 669506)
1st debate.

High School ball. NFHS

Got into a nice little debate this evening with a fellow softball UMPIRE. Here's the question. A ball is hit and recochets off the pitchers glove toward short stop. The short stop comes up to make a play on the ball and is hit by the runner moving from 2nd to 3rd.

Is this interference.

I say yes, clear cut. He says it is OBS cause SS does not have the ball. He also said the 1 step and reach comes into play...HUH?

I don't believe NFHS covers deflected batted balls in the rule book like ASA does, but I believe the definition of Initial Play covers it.

Quote:


2nd debate.

Again NHFS

R1 on 1B, 1 out. 3-2 count on batter, shes swings at next pitch misses, F2 catches the ball on the bounce, BR takes off to 1B, running in runners lande all the way, F2 throws to 1B hitting BR in back. What have you got?
Well, running in the 3' lane "all the way" to 1B isn't possible. :rolleyes: However, even part of the way is irrelevant since she is not a BR.

If there was a play on R1, then it is INT. If there is no play, I'm thinking DMC.

RKBUmp Sat Mar 20, 2010 09:24pm

NFHS does not consider an attempt at a play on a ball by the pitcher to be an initial play. If it was deflected toward the SS and she was attempting to field the ball, it is interference on the runner.

CecilOne Sun Mar 21, 2010 09:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 669544)
NFHS does not consider an attempt at a play on a ball by the pitcher to be an initial play. If it was deflected toward the SS and she was attempting to field the ball, it is interference on the runner.

A deflection off any fielder to another is an initial play as long as the ball stays in flight.

CecilOne Sun Mar 21, 2010 03:19pm

Missed you so far this season. Have you been posting or out of touch or ... ? :(

SRW Mon Mar 22, 2010 11:40am

1st debate scenario only, NFHS Rules:

I had this exact play in my game on Saturday myself. I called OBS because the collision between R1 and F6 happened as F1 went for the ball. Then F1 muffed it, deflected to F6, who was in the process of moving to field it when R1 hit her. I was wrong.

The Initial Play definition (2.47.3) covers a deflected batted ball off the pitcher only. (also see case play 2.47.3 situation B). In my play, and in whiskers_ump's play, interference has happened per 8.6.10.a.

I missed an out. Dangit!

Andy Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW (Post 669820)
1st debate scenario only, NFHS Rules:

I had this exact play in my game on Saturday myself. I called OBS because the collision between R1 and F6 happened as F1 went for the ball. Then F1 muffed it, deflected to F6, who was in the process of moving to field it when R1 hit her. I was wrong.

The Initial Play definition (2.47.3) covers a deflected batted ball off the pitcher only. (also see case play 2.47.3 situation B). In my play, and in whiskers_ump's play, interference has happened per 8.6.10.a.

I missed an out. Dangit!

This is interesting and brings a question to my mind...what would you have had it F1 had fielded the ball cleanly? Was the collision between F6 and R1 significantly before the muff or was it bang-bang as the ball was being misplayed? Since OBS is a delayed dead ball anyway, might it have been proper to signal the DDB for OBS at first, then change to an interference call as this play develops? That should make for an interesting conversation with a coach.....

HugoTafurst Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 670083)
This is interesting and brings a question to my mind...what would you have had it F1 had fielded the ball cleanly? Was the collision between F6 and R1 significantly before the muff or was it bang-bang as the ball was being misplayed? Since OBS is a delayed dead ball anyway, might it have been proper to signal the DDB for OBS at first, then change to an interference call as this play develops? That should make for an interesting conversation with a coach.....


If F1 fielded the ball cleanly and R1 and F6 collided????
How could it be anything but obstruction??

IRISHMAFIA Tue Mar 23, 2010 05:27pm

NFHS Part II #66

The pitcher may throw to a base while a foot is in contact with the pitcher's plate after having taken the pitching position.

Andy Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 670109)
If F1 fielded the ball cleanly and R1 and F6 collided????
How could it be anything but obstruction??

It was kind of a rhetorical question designed to help illustrate the issue I was trying to present....

SRW Wed Mar 24, 2010 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 670083)
This is interesting and brings a question to my mind...what would you have had it F1 had fielded the ball cleanly? Was the collision between F6 and R1 significantly before the muff or was it bang-bang as the ball was being misplayed? Since OBS is a delayed dead ball anyway, might it have been proper to signal the DDB for OBS at first, then change to an interference call as this play develops? That should make for an interesting conversation with a coach.....

If F1 got it and made the play, then you no longer have a deflected batted ball. OBS is the only call you have at that point.

argodad Wed Mar 24, 2010 04:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by irishmafia (Post 670189)
nfhs part ii #66

the pitcher may throw to a base while a foot is in contact with the pitcher's plate after having taken the pitching position.

false

IRISHMAFIA Wed Mar 24, 2010 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by argodad (Post 670400)
false

I disagree. She can throw it to a base if she wants. How are you going to stop her? :confused:

Dakota Wed Mar 24, 2010 05:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 670414)
I disagree. She can throw it to a base if she wants. How are you going to stop her? :confused:

OK, I like poking fun at logical fallacies in the wording of T/F questions as much as (actually, probably more than) the next guy, but the question says "may" not "can"! :D

argodad Wed Mar 24, 2010 05:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 670414)
I disagree. She can throw it to a base if she wants. How are you going to stop her? :confused:

Ahhh ... it's test grammar you are hitting. Well, in that case, you can hardly miss! :cool:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1