The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Stump the ump.... (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/57603-stump-ump.html)

AtlUmpSteve Fri Mar 26, 2010 09:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 670835)
I'm not rewarding a bad throw / decision by F2. If, in my judgement, B1 is unaware that she is out on strikes, there is no interference.

Let's be clear.

You are wrong according to the rules of softball. Your judgement of B1's intent or awareness has absolutely zero to do with the ruling on this play. If a player already out interferes with a play, it is interference.

Black and white; notwithstanding your judgement.

CecilOne Sat Mar 27, 2010 06:42am

IOW, the third strike exception (ASA 8-7P, NFHS 8-7-18) does not apply ?

Tangent, not quite a hijack. ;)
The batter is already out, also the runner closest to home at he moment of INT, so if the ball then goes out of play, only any remaining runners would stay and be awarded bases.

IRISHMAFIA Sat Mar 27, 2010 07:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 670931)
so if the ball then goes out of play, only any remaining runners would stay and be awarded bases.

Why would you award bases? The ball was dead the moment it hit the retired batter. At that point, don't really care where the ball goes.

DRJ1960 Sat Mar 27, 2010 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 670885)
Let's be clear.

You are wrong according to the rules of softball. Your judgement of B1's intent or awareness has absolutely zero to do with the ruling on this play. If a player already out interferes with a play, it is interference.

Black and white; notwithstanding your judgement.

I'm willing to larn....quote the rule that clearly states my error.

DRJ1960 Sat Mar 27, 2010 01:37pm

I'm also willing to "learn".

CecilOne Sat Mar 27, 2010 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 670937)
Why would you award bases? The ball was dead the moment it hit the retired batter. At that point, don't really care where the ball goes.

Yeah, forgot. No more comments until 8AM or finished coffee. :D

IRISHMAFIA Sat Mar 27, 2010 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by drj1960 (Post 670958)
i'm willing to larn....quote the rule that clearly states my error.

asa 8.7.p

DRJ1960 Sat Mar 27, 2010 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 670965)
asa 8.7.p

Don't have those books. NFHS is where I spend most of my time.

IRISHMAFIA Sat Mar 27, 2010 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 670966)
Don't have those books. NFHS is where I spend most of my time.

Then maybe you should provide citation to support your ruling.

DRJ1960 Sat Mar 27, 2010 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 670965)
asa 8.7.p

Googled it...

Rule clearly requires "intentional" interference... which is where I am coming from.

DRJ1960 Sat Mar 27, 2010 02:56pm

The last phrase of P clearly protects the batter running after the dropped 3rd strike in the initial post.

IRISHMAFIA Sat Mar 27, 2010 03:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 670969)
The last phrase of P clearly protects the batter running after the dropped 3rd strike in the initial post.

No, it doesn't. Haven't you been paying attention? The exception only applies to drawing a throw after being retired. AND there is no mention of intention.

Sorry for the misunderstanding, thought you were an umpire. Guess not.

DRJ1960 Sat Mar 27, 2010 03:24pm

I typed out a long, angry post, but deleted it.

Did it ever cross you guys minds WHY this is being discussed?

I'm done.

AtlUmpSteve Sat Mar 27, 2010 07:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 670931)
IOW, the third strike exception (ASA 8-7P, NFHS 8-7-18) does not apply ?

Cecil, and DRJ1960 (since you want an NFHS citation); that exception is clearly limited to the rule it states it is an exception to. That being that interference is not assigned to drawing a throw, if the batter runs inappropriately after being out on strikes.

Just that; not out for drawing a throw. But, if that already retired batter interferes in any OTHER way, then the exception does not apply.

Here is a case play where the throw was not drawn by running; the already retired batter interfered with an attempt on another runner. That has to be interference, without regard to intent.

DRJ1960, my response to you was based on the tone of your response, that you had (seemingly) made up your mind that you would rule based on your determination of non-intent, without considering any other factors. That isn't a factor in properly applying the rules, and I wanted to tell you that. If you insist on that interpretation, you would be wrong. No more than that.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1