The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   your call plz (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/57268-your-call-plz.html)

upstateump Sun Feb 21, 2010 02:18pm

your call plz
 
2 outs, bottom 7, tie ball game, runners on 1st and 3rd, batter gets base hit, runner on 3rd scores, ball is tossed to the infield around pitching rubber, defensive and offensive players, assuming the game is over, begin to vacate field, as they do an offensive player picks the ball up and tosses it into the dugout, the batter/runner had touched 1st base, but the runner on 1st never touched 2nd base, as they are celebrating their supposive win the defensive coach approaches umpire and wants to appeal that the runner on 1st never touched 2nd and vacated the field for an out that would eliminate the run because of the force out...whats the verdict

IRISHMAFIA Sun Feb 21, 2010 02:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by upstateump (Post 663517)
2 outs, bottom 7, tie ball game, runners on 1st and 3rd, batter gets base hit, runner on 3rd scores, ball is tossed to the infield around pitching rubber, defensive and offensive players, assuming the game is over, begin to vacate field, as they do an offensive player picks the ball up and tosses it into the dugout, the batter/runner had touched 1st base, but the runner on 1st never touched 2nd base, as they are celebrating their supposive win the defensive coach approaches umpire and wants to appeal that the runner on 1st never touched 2nd and vacated the field for an out that would eliminate the run because of the force out...whats the verdict

Speaking ASA

Why are you worried about the ball? You don't need no stinking ball!!

However, I hope the coach brought along an infielder, pitcher or catcher who have yet to leave fair territory to interpret
for him.

If the appeal is made within the allowance provided by rule, I am going to have to find a store that sells beer before I go home.

Yeah, yeah, I know the catcher doesn't play in fair territory. Stop being a putz. If the catcher hasn't left her immediate playing area for the dugout, I will accept an appeal from him/her.

upstateump Sun Feb 21, 2010 04:15pm

why the arragant condescension,,,you cant be any fun on the field

IRISHMAFIA Sun Feb 21, 2010 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by upstateump (Post 663547)
why the arragant condescension,,,you cant be any fun on the field

Lacking citation, I assume you are referring to the last paragraph. Just trying to get ahead of the subsequent issues which may be raised by others.

HugoTafurst Sun Feb 21, 2010 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by upstateump (Post 663547)
why the arragant condescension,,,you cant be any fun on the field

Funny thing about message boards - the same words can be interpreted differently by different readers.

I thought the answer was written with a humorous touch, sarcastic, yes, but humorus nonetheless.

In fact, I was thinking that the tone was probably beer inspired, maybe mixed with a little cabin fever.

NCASAUmp Sun Feb 21, 2010 04:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by upstateump (Post 663547)
why the arragant condescension,,,you cant be any fun on the field

Don't worry much about Mike. He's actually a teddybear. ;)

HugoTafurst is right... Comments like his can be misinterpreted. Sure, he can have a little bite in his words, but he's not one to be offensive. You just gotta get to know him, is all.

Skahtboi Sun Feb 21, 2010 07:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 663561)
Don't worry much about Mike. He's actually a teddybear. ;)

HugoTafurst is right... Comments like his can be misinterpreted. Sure, he can have a little bite in his words, but he's not one to be offensive. You just gotta get to know him, is all.


Well....I'm offended!!!! :rolleyes:

IRISHMAFIA Sun Feb 21, 2010 07:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by skahtboi (Post 663586)
well....i'm offended!!!! :rolleyes:

p.o.o.p.

shagpal Sun Feb 21, 2010 07:51pm

you gotta be funny to be funny.

if you gotta think about it with any effort, it ain't funny. clever perhaps, but not funny. wise azz prolly, but not funny.

if you gotta explain a joke, then....


Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 663559)
Funny thing about message boards - the same words can be interpreted differently by different readers.

I thought the answer was written with a humorous touch, sarcastic, yes, but humorus nonetheless.

In fact, I was thinking that the tone was probably beer inspired, maybe mixed with a little cabin fever.


upstateump Sun Feb 21, 2010 08:36pm

wow,,yall must luv to hear yourselves talk or are scared of the sitch,,cuz ive only read one half-hearted answer

AtlUmpSteve Sun Feb 21, 2010 08:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by upstateump (Post 663602)
wow,,yall must luv to hear yourselves talk or are scared of the sitch,,cuz ive only read one half-hearted answer

So, who's being arrogant now?? How many answers do you think you need to hear after the one right one is already posted?

If you need to hear more plainly, here it is. The defensive coach cannot make an appeal, either live ball or dead ball, in ASA. The ball became dead when thrown out of play, but that doesn't excuse runners from the requirements to legally run the bases. So, if an infielder (including pitcher or catcher; not an outfielder or coach) that hasn't left the field of play makes a dead ball appeal on the runner from first failing to touch the base forced to touch (second) to an umpire that also hasn't left the field, then the winning run does not score.

Start the 8th if they appeal properly; end the game if they do not. What else do you not understand?

By the way, what is a supposive win? Did you mean supposed (or assumed) win?

shagpal Sun Feb 21, 2010 09:07pm

you won't get a straight answer from a clown, so don't expect one. you'll most likely get insults.

Quote:

Originally Posted by upstateump (Post 663602)
wow,,yall must luv to hear yourselves talk or are scared of the sitch,,cuz ive only read one half-hearted answer


IRISHMAFIA Sun Feb 21, 2010 09:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by upstateump (Post 663602)
wow,,yall must luv to hear yourselves talk or are scared of the sitch,,cuz ive only read one half-hearted answer

Okay, based on the poorly posted scenario, the verdict is.......nothing as a proper appeal was not made.

KJUmp Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by upstateump (Post 663517)
2 outs, bottom 7, tie ball game, runners on 1st and 3rd, batter gets base hit, runner on 3rd scores, ball is tossed to the infield around pitching rubber, defensive and offensive players, assuming the game is over, begin to vacate field, as they do an offensive player picks the ball up and tosses it into the dugout, the batter/runner had touched 1st base, but the runner on 1st never touched 2nd base, as they are celebrating their supposive win the defensive coach approaches umpire and wants to appeal that the runner on 1st never touched 2nd and vacated the field for an out that would eliminate the run because of the force out...whats the verdict

Interesting sitch. A little bizarre, but interesting. Breaking it down under NCAA rules here's how I see it:

1.2 outs, bottom 7, tie ball game, runners on 1st and 3rd, batter gets base hit,runner on 3rd scores...
At this point the game is over (for the moment anyway)...you have a winner. 6.2.1

2....an offensive player picks the ball up and tosses it into the dugout...
Not pertinent to sitch. The ball became dead when the runner from 3rd scored giving the home team the winning run (for the moment) in the bottom of the 7th. 6.12.1.2.1

3. ......defensive coach approaches umpire and wants to appeal....
OK under NCAA rules. 7.1.2.2.1

4. Now IF, (as it was not stated in your OP), that the DC's request for an appeal of the runner on 1st failed to touch 2nd, was made "before the pitcher and all infielders have clearly vacated their normal fielding positions and have left fair territory, and the catcher has clearly vacated her normal her normal fielding position." 7.1.1.2.3
You have a dead ball appeal. 3 outs. Score still tied. Visitors lead off the top of the 8th inning.

5. If defense DID NOT meet the requirements in #4 for a proper dead ball appeal,
Game over. Home team wins.

BretMan Sun Feb 21, 2010 11:00pm

Half-hearted answer? You got a correct answer that pretty much covered it all!

If the missed base is properly appealed, the run is cancelled. The game is tied and we continue to the top of the eighth.

If it's not, game over, home team wins.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Feb 21, 2010 11:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 663644)
"before the pitcher and all infielders have clearly vacated their normal fielding positions and have left fair territory, and the catcher has clearly vacated her normal her normal fielding position." 7.1.1.2.3

Just out of curiosity, how can an infielder not leave their normal fielding position if they have left fair territory? :rolleyes:

argodad Mon Feb 22, 2010 02:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by upstateump (Post 663602)
wow,,yall must luv to hear yourselves talk

Yes we do.

Quote:

or are scared of the sitch,,
Not a chance.

Quote:

cuz ive only read one half-hearted answer
But it was the correct answer.

youngump Mon Feb 22, 2010 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 663644)
Interesting sitch. A little bizarre, but interesting. Breaking it down under NCAA rules here's how I see it:

1.2 outs, bottom 7, tie ball game, runners on 1st and 3rd, batter gets base hit,runner on 3rd scores...
At this point the game is over (for the moment anyway)...you have a winner. 6.2.1

2....an offensive player picks the ball up and tosses it into the dugout...
Not pertinent to sitch. The ball became dead when the runner from 3rd scored giving the home team the winning run (for the moment) in the bottom of the 7th. 6.12.1.2.1
[snip]
Game over. Home team wins.

I'm not an NCAA expert by any means but I don't believe this can be right. If the ball were dead them moment the runner from third scored then how would you deal with this variant of the situation. Right after the runner scores the forced runner is forced out at second. Surely she can't be safe on the theory that she was just completing her dead ball baserunning responsibilities.
________
TopJoy.

KJUmp Mon Feb 22, 2010 08:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 663791)
I'm not an NCAA expert by any means but I don't believe this can be right. If the ball were dead them moment the runner from third scored then how would you deal with this variant of the situation. Right after the runner scores the forced runner is forced out at second. Surely she can't be safe on the theory that she was just completing her dead ball baserunning responsibilities.

Not quite sure I understand your question clearly, or exactly what you are referring to when you said "this variant of the situation". I'll try to reply based on what I think you're asking.
First, I'm not an NCAA expert either, I had my books handy when I saw the OP, found it an interesting sitch, and looked at it from the perspective that if it happened in a college game, how would I have handled it, referencing the applicable NCAAA rule number.
My point to the poster about the dead ball not being pertinent to the sitch is this...when the run scored the game was over. Home team is jumping around, high fiving each other thinking that they won. At that moment the rule book definition of a completed game had been satisfied. Because the game is over the ball is dead. To illustrate it another way, say the batter hits a home run over the fence. When the ball cleared the fence it became, by rule, a dead ball. The offensive player in the OP who threw the ball into the dugout did not cause the ball to become a dead ball. it already was a dead ball by virtue of the home run. Hence, her actions have no bearing on the play. There is no base award given to any of the runners or the batter runner because she threw the ball into the dugout. As Irish pointed out in his initial reply to OP.....(paraphrasing here)....'we don't need the ball.'
Our concern on the field as a crew is:
1. Did the runner on 1st complete her base running obligation to touch 2nd after the BR got her base hit that scored the runner from 3rd?
2. Did the defensive team satisfy the rule requirements for a proper appeal?

KJUmp Mon Feb 22, 2010 08:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 663652)
Just out of curiosity, how can an infielder not leave their normal fielding position if they have left fair territory? :rolleyes:

Good point Mike, clever how those NCAA devils wrote that rule.

Dakota Mon Feb 22, 2010 09:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 663920)
Not quite sure I understand your question clearly, or exactly what you are referring to when you said "this variant of the situation". I'll try to reply based on what I think you're asking.
First, I'm not an NCAA expert either, I had my books handy when I saw the OP, found it an interesting sitch, and looked at it from the perspective that if it happened in a college game, how would I have handled it, referencing the applicable NCAAA rule number.
My point to the poster about the dead ball not being pertinent to the sitch is this...when the run scored the game was over. Home team is jumping around, high fiving each other thinking that they won. At that moment the rule book definition of a completed game had been satisfied. Because the game is over the ball is dead. To illustrate it another way, say the batter hits a home run over the fence. When the ball cleared the fence it became, by rule, a dead ball. The offensive player in the OP who threw the ball into the dugout did not cause the ball to become a dead ball. it already was a dead ball by virtue of the home run. Hence, her actions have no bearing on the play. There is no base award given to any of the runners or the batter runner because she threw the ball into the dugout. As Irish pointed out in his initial reply to OP.....(paraphrasing here)....'we don't need the ball.'
Our concern on the field as a crew is:
1. Did the runner on 1st complete her base running obligation to touch 2nd after the BR got her base hit that scored the runner from 3rd?
2. Did the defensive team satisfy the rule requirements for a proper appeal?

So, to clarify the variation youngump was describing, if R2 keeps running toward 2B, and a defender notices, the fielder cannot throw the ball to 2B to force out the runner?

robbie Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 663920)
Not quite sure I understand your question clearly, or exactly what you are referring to when you said "this variant of the situation". I'll try to reply based on what I think you're asking.
First, I'm not an NCAA expert either, I had my books handy when I saw the OP, found it an interesting sitch, and looked at it from the perspective that if it happened in a college game, how would I have handled it, referencing the applicable NCAAA rule number.
My point to the poster about the dead ball not being pertinent to the sitch is this...when the run scored the game was over. Home team is jumping around, high fiving each other thinking that they won. At that moment the rule book definition of a completed game had been satisfied. Because the game is over the ball is dead. To illustrate it another way, say the batter hits a home run over the fence. When the ball cleared the fence it became, by rule, a dead ball. The offensive player in the OP who threw the ball into the dugout did not cause the ball to become a dead ball. it already was a dead ball by virtue of the home run. Hence, her actions have no bearing on the play. There is no base award given to any of the runners or the batter runner because she threw the ball into the dugout. As Irish pointed out in his initial reply to OP.....(paraphrasing here)....'we don't need the ball.'
Our concern on the field as a crew is:
1. Did the runner on 1st complete her base running obligation to touch 2nd after the BR got her base hit that scored the runner from 3rd?
2. Did the defensive team satisfy the rule requirements for a proper appeal?

I thought I already posted this, but guess I did something wrong, because its not here....

I disagree that the game is over and or that the ball is dead when the runner touches home.

To illustrate, lets change the situation slightly:

Lets say that runner on third is running on the release of the pitch.

Lets say that the runner from first is very slow.

Lets say that the "hit" is a slow gorund ball to F6.

Its likely that R1 would (or certainly could) reach home while F6 is still in the process of fielding the ball and throwing to F4 for a forceout.

Noone would suggest that the game is over (or conditionally over) or that the ball is dead when the runner touches home.

From a prcatical point, this is the play in the original post.

By the way, I'm not questioning the outcome or the ruling - only stating that the game nor the play ends when R1 touches home.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1