![]() |
|
|||
![]() 2003 NFHS Softball Rules Changes. 6-2-6 Clarifies that when a ball slips from the pitcher's hand, the batter may legally swing at a ball that has an opportunity to be struck rather than an automatic "ball" being called. "Is this opening a real can of worms or what?" I see it now, runner on 2nd 3/2 count ball bouncing in after slipping, batter swings goes hard to 1B, F2 pondering her options. Now suppose F2 waits on ball it never reaches plate. Would this fit in the new category? Or would the batter just be called out since the ball did not have opportunity to be struck. Suppose F2 does not wait, jumps up as soon as Batter swings and goes out into field say 3 feet to retrieve ball and try and throw the BR out. Can't have obstruction, batter had opportunity to swing and did. Now blue is stuck with making a judgement, "Did the ball or would have the ball had an opportunity to be struck?" I know, common sense needs to be applied, but lets hear what everyone thinks. ![]() glen [Edited by whiskers_ump on Sep 3rd, 2002 at 08:01 PM]
__________________
glen _______________________________ "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." --Mark Twain. |
Bookmarks |
|
|