The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   interference? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/56619-interference.html)

Bill Baker Thu Jan 21, 2010 06:23pm

interference?
 
In our senior (winter) Texan league, sliding is prohibited.

R1 is on first. B2 hits a ground ball to deep 3rd. R1 beats the throw to 2B. His momentum carries him into the defensive player who is just off 2B as the ball arrives. As a result of the contact, F4 drops the ball. R1 is off the bag with ball on the ground. BU calls 'safe' and the contact as incidental.

Both umpires have a clear view of the play. In our after-game talk, we agree on what happened and discuss whether interference should have been called because R1 would have been out if F4 had held on to the ball (dropped due to R1's contact). As a result of that contact, do we have INT?

NCASAUmp Thu Jan 21, 2010 08:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bill Baker (Post 654222)
In our senior (winter) Texan league, sliding is prohibited.

R1 is on first. B2 hits a ground ball to deep 3rd. R1 beats the throw to 2B. His momentum carries him into the defensive player who is just off 2B as the ball arrives. As a result of the contact, F4 drops the ball. R1 is off the bag with ball on the ground. BU calls 'safe' and the contact as incidental.

Both umpires have a clear view of the play. In our after-game talk, we agree on what happened and discuss whether interference should have been called because R1 would have been out if F4 had held on to the ball (dropped due to R1's contact). As a result of that contact, do we have INT?

I think this is the most important part of the post. R1 has the right to run to the bag, and they also have the right to choose their path. Unless I see arms flailing or a leg sweep, I'm not calling interference on this one.

It sounds like this could be classified as a "wreck," where the ball, fielder and runner all arrive at the base at about the same time. No one committed a specific act that's "outside the normal act of playing softball."

I would not call INT on this one. Live ball, runner safe, DMF (dumb move, fielder).

Stevetheump Mon Jan 25, 2010 06:09pm

Good call, NCASUmp.............
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 654251)
I think this is the most important part of the post. R1 has the right to run to the bag, and they also have the right to choose their path. Unless I see arms flailing or a leg sweep, I'm not calling interference on this one.

It sounds like this could be classified as a "wreck," where the ball, fielder and runner all arrive at the base at about the same time. No one committed a specific act that's "outside the normal act of playing softball."

I would not call INT on this one. Live ball, runner safe, DMF (dumb move, fielder).

I agree. Once you judge the contact to be "incidental" or a "wreck," there is NO interference.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1