The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 05, 2002, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 18
I wasn't on this field but was working this 100+ team national tournament and this situation created a lot of discussion.

Batter attempts a bunt which goes up and to the side but not above the batter's head. Catcher lunges to the side and cleanly catches the ball outside of the catcher's box without the ball hitting the ground. Is this a foul tip, simply a strike, or simply a foul and dead?

By the way it was ruled to be simply a foul because it did not go directly to the catcher's glove. In my opinion, directly simply means that the ball touched nothing in between and therefore this play is simply a foul tip.

Any thoughts?

[Edited by Larry Wolfe on Aug 5th, 2002 at 02:20 PM]
__________________
Wolfy
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1