![]() |
Interference? Or no call?
Uncaught 3K pops forward out of catcher's mitt, and
(a) hits B-R's foot as she is running and deflects away from the catcher, or (b) is deflected by B-R's foot away from catcher. Both NFHS and ASA call a B-R out for interference on a dropped third strike. USSSA is a bit more detailed, calling the B-R out for "interfering with the catcher's attempt to field the ball after a third strike." My assumption on the intent of this rule is to prevent physical contact between the B-R and F2, not to call interference because the loose ball hits the B-R or is hit by the B-R after F2 failed to catch the ball. Is it fair to penalize the offense after the defense failed to catch the ball? (BTW - this occured in a 14U USSSA game Sunday). WMB |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I believe most would call it differently if similar happened on base. (SIT: With R1 on first, the ball is hit sharply to F3. The ball bounces out of F3's glove, bounds approximately 4 feet away and hits R1's foot.) However, I agree with you that the rules state in the original situations the batter is out. If I'm ever good enough to be invited to be a member of a rules committee, I'll attempt to change it... right after I rename the foul lines to "fair lines". |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10am. |