The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Jul 19, 2009, 12:39am
Official Forum Member

Sorry red, er, ah, I mean, caught ya red and your welcome

Funny story with an umpire today.
I usually post BB but they don't like SB stuff over there.
I've been Umpiring SPSB for 8 years and playing for 28 and pitching for 25 of those..

I'm "playing" USSSA SP, which allows for F1 to deliver from any where within the width of and as far 6' back of the rubber. This is a couple three yr. old rule (Nationally, though here in Wa. we experimented with as far as 2nd base at one time, then 10' for many years) implemented to give a bit of added safety to the F1's.
I allow and use "it all" and have never called it, nor had it called on me.

The fields we're on are immaculate, turf Infld, plush grass OF.
There are permanent lines for fair foul on the turf, running lane, Btr. box, on decks, circle for FP mound, and; a "box" extending from the edges of the rubber back about 5', never seen one not sure what it's intended for? NSA, ASA don't know..

No kidding, first pitch of the game, perfect, right down the tube.
Red say's "ball, unfairly delivered, you gotta be within the box".

I'm dumbfounded and looking at this box, thinking that aint' 6', "so no kidding, in all honesty, without even thinking about it, I lay down to measure, it's 5', I'm 6'2".
I get up and say, "this is short", Red say's "this tournament's gonna be short for you if you do that again, that's what we're directed to use, lets go."

First off, I'm a bit ticked, then I realize what I just did, kinda like drawing a line on the outside of the plate to indicate where a batter thought the pitch was. Guess I wouldn't a liked it either.