The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Infield in the rule book (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53970-infield-rule-book.html)

youngump Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:35am

Infield in the rule book
 
So I was reviewing definitions in the rule book last night and learned something new, that probably has no application whatsoever -- and even then probably wouldn't have been intentional -- but I thought I'd ask.

The infield is defined as the area normally covered by the infielders. And the infielders are the people who cover the area around 3rd, short, 2nd, and 1st. So the infield --by rule-- does not include the area normally defended by the pitcher. Does that definition affect any rule whatsoever?
________
WEB SHOWS

NCASAUmp Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 614763)
So I was reviewing definitions in the rule book last night and learned something new, that probably has no application whatsoever -- and even then probably wouldn't have been intentional -- but I thought I'd ask.

The infield is defined as the area normally covered by the infielders. And the infielders are the people who cover the area around 3rd, short, 2nd, and 1st. So the infield --by rule-- does not include the area normally defended by the pitcher. Does that definition affect any rule whatsoever?

It can affect coed SP play. There are to be 2 male outfielders and 2 female outfielders, along with 2 male infielders and 2 female infielders.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 614763)
So I was reviewing definitions in the rule book last night and learned something new, that probably has no application whatsoever -- and even then probably wouldn't have been intentional -- but I thought I'd ask.

The infield is defined as the area normally covered by the infielders. And the infielders are the people who cover the area around 3rd, short, 2nd, and 1st. So the infield --by rule-- does not include the area normally defended by the pitcher. Does that definition affect any rule whatsoever?

Only the IFR which was amended a couple years ago :cool: to separately list the pitcher and catcher with an infielder.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1