![]() |
hurt obstructed runner
I know awarded bases must be touched, but how do you handle this? Runner is obstructed by catcher between 3rd and home. Umpire signals obstruction and has her protected to home. Catcher comes down real hard on the runner and she is hurt and unable to get up and continue. Ambulance comes and takes her off. Coach then brings in sub for her. Neither original runner nor sub ever touches home on the award. Can this still be appealled by the defense? Do you tip off the coach and tell him that the sub must touch home or what do you do? Probably chicken sh.t by the DC but still legal. Dave
|
You have dead ball and OBS, so award the runner home.
Whats the problem? You wouldnt allow this, just make it happen so he understands what he needs to do. "Sure coach, I have a dead ball. And yes, of course, you can bring in a sub to finish running the bases. We have a dead ball, your runner is awarded home so get her out there and lets get playing ball." before he even asks. He'll know what to do, if not stand by home staring at him until he figures it out "Lets go coach, time to play ball, we need that sub." Why deal with a mess? |
ASA 10-4-G allows the umpire to suspend play for an injury that requires immediate attention. Now, I'm no doctor, so if I see a runner on the ground, holding his/her knee and in obvious pain, I'm killing the play.
At that point, I would put a substitute runner on 3B. If the award is HP, then they'll simply run from 3B to HP (4-6-D). Perfectly legal. The key is the PU taking charge and making sure the runners (and substitute) are given their chance to complete their baserunning responsibilities (RS #1). |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09pm. |