The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   obstruction or out (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53881-obstruction-out.html)

NCASAUmp Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 612996)
Which is why I asked. If IRISHMAFIA was in the room, I'd love for him to pass along my name and number to ASA to offer my copy editing skills for the next edition of the ASA manual.

As much as I enjoy picking on Mike for his age, he's probably not old enough to have been in the room, but... I'll just let you wonder.

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 612996)
If I feel there is "justification," yes. It's also not clear from the rule what that justification would be.

Then if you aren't clear on the justification, how can you eject the player?

Look, read the definition of OBS:

Quote:

OBSTRUCTION: The act of a defensive team member:
A. Who hinders or impedes a batter from striking at or hitting a pitched ball.
B. Who impedes the progress of a runner or batter-runner who is legally running the bases unless the fielder is:
1. in possession of the ball.
2. in the act of fielding a batted ball.
Read #1 in that list. They have the ball. It's not OBS.

/Advocacy

fiasco Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:34pm

That was fun. :D

NCASAUmp Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 613003)
That was fun. :D

Your sharing lamp is extinguished.

http://angrygrayrainbows.files.wordp...ool_slayer.jpg

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jul 07, 2009 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 612996)
If I feel there is "justification," yes. It's also not clear from the rule what that justification would be.

The justification is if the runner was deked into the believing they were about to be tagged out and reacted in a manner (slide, diver, whatever) that unnecessarily places the player at a higher level of possible injury. This should be covered with OBS in clinics.

Ref Ump Welsch Wed Jul 08, 2009 02:27pm

I have nothing but a dumb runner in the OP. The runner should continue to run until they hear an out call. I had the same sitch in a coed slow-pitch game, except R1 was between 2B and 3B, with bases loaded. F6 touched R1 with the glove (but never applied the ball) and then threw to 2B to retire R2. R1 was smart and stayed on 3B, and as soon as I called time, the defense was wondering why they never heard the out call on R1. Again, the runner did the right thing in my sitch, but in the OP, sounds like runner needs a new coach. :rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1